An improved performance by Dublin in the last quarter just wasn’t enough as Galway win the U20 All Ireland Final by the minimum

U20 All Ireland Final - Dublin v Galway

Dublin 0-13
Galway 1-11

A disappointing end to Dublin’s U20 season as once again they get pipped at the post in another All Ireland Football Final. Despite finishing strong it wasn’t enough to stop Galway securing the win, and Dublin will rue some disappointing kickouts and passing.

The Galway U20 side were 1-09 to 0-06 to the good seven minutes into the second half thanks to a Tomo Culhane goal. But the goal seemed to spur Dublin into another gear. And they were unlucky not to be awarded a late free that could have changed the game completely.

Lee Gannon shone for Dublin, along with some great performances for Mark Lavin and Lorcan O’Dell in the forwards. Adam Fearon shot one of two fine points before the second half water break to leave four between the sides on 1-10 to 0-12. Mark Lavin (2) and Lorcan O’Dell combined to reduce the defecit to one solitary point.

Crucially a Matthew Tierney free saved Galway, giving them time to try keep possession to run out the clock. Fearon got his second score late in additional time. And when it looked like Josh Bannon was pushed in the back at the close of the game it looked as if Dublin may have been given a lifeline, but teh referee waved it off much to the dismay of the Dublin players.

Galway held the upper hand in the opening half and were 0-08 to 0-05 ahead at the break as Dublin struggled with kickouts and possession. Culhane and Tierney slotted over scores at vital moments that continued to give Galway the uppper hand as they smothered the Dublin attack consistently.

Sadly, and for another year it wasn’t to be for Dublin, who are still in search of their first U20 title.

Dublin Scorers:

Mark Lavin 0-04 (1f)
Brian O’Leary 0-02
Lorcan O’Dell 0-02
Adam Fearon 0-02
Ciaran Archer 0-01 (1f)
Lee Gannon 0-01
Luke Swan 0-01

Galway Scorers:

Tomo Culhane 1-06 (4f)
Matthew Tierney 0-04 (1f)
Matthew Cooley 0-01


1. Josh O’Neill
2. Conor Tyrrell
3. Adam Rafter
4. Josh Bannon
5. Rory Dwyer
6. Adam Waddick
7. Lee Gannon
8. Adam Fearon
9. Mark O’Leary
10. Mark Lavin
11. Lorcan O’Dell
12. Sean Lowry
13. Ciaran Archer
14. Luke Swan
15. Brian O’Leary

Dublin Substitutes:

21. Kieran McKeon for Sean Lowry (46)
22. Padraig Purcell for Adam Fearon (63)


1. Conor Flaherty
2. Jonathan McGrath
3. Sean Fitzgerald
4. Jack Glynn
5. Cian Monahan
6. Tony Gill
7. Cathal Sweeney
8. Conor Rafferty
9. Cian Hernon
10. Paul Kelly
11. Matthew Tierney
12. Ryan Monahan
13. Patrick Kelly
14. Tomo Culhane
15. Matthew Cooley

Galway Substitutes:

18. Jack Kirrane for Cathal Sweeney (16)
22. Alan Greene for Cian Hernon (33)
23. Eoin Mannion for Matthew Cooley (45)
20. Daniel Cox for Paul Kelly (52)
24. Warren Seoige for Tomo Culhane (60)