Kilmacud Crokes v Ballyboden St. Endas

Two goals the difference as Kilmacud send Ballyboden out of the Dublin Senior Football Championship

Kilmacud Crokes 2-9
Ballyboden St Enda’s 0-9

Parnell Park. Saturday, October 13th

They’ve been waiting a long time but Kilmacud Crokes are back in the Dublin Senior Football Final for the first time since 2012. Back then they were defeated by Ballymun who went on to capture the provincial title. Crokes last Championship final win was in 2010, and they too secured the Leinster crown. But they won’t be looking past the count y final in two weeks time.

To be fair they made it look easy against Ballyboden St. Endas, but their win was well deserved. They’ll now be relishing the chance to play St. Judes for the title.

The Stillorgan men couldn’t have asked for a better start when a string of passes between Conor Casey, Pat Burke and Dara Mullin played Craig Dias on to slot the ball past Darragh Gogan to flash an early goal onto the scoreboard.

A reply from Colm Basquel was answered by a Pat Burke free and it took Ballyboden another 15 minutes before they squared to game. Points from Colm Basquel, two Ryan Basquel frees and a point from play by Robbie McDaid brought the score back on level terms at 1-01 to 0-04. Frees from Paul Mannion and Colm Basquel kept the teams tied. But after an Andy McGowan point off the outside of his boot, the net would ripple again for Crokes.

Crokes score a second goal before the break

Shane Horan produced a clinical finish after a great solo attack to put 0-04 between the sides. Michael Darragh Macauley almost got Boden back into the game a minute later with a bullet of a shot that ricocheted off the crossbar and was cleared from danger. But with a minute of normal time remaining, Dara Mullin scored a point under pressure to end the half with Crokes ahead by 0-05 on a score of 2-04 to 0-05.

Early scores from Shane Cunningham and Paul Mannion stretched Kilmacud’s lead out to 0-07 but Boden start to get a slightly better hold on the game as they slowly cut the gap to 0-03 with the Basquel brothers grabbing a brace of points each. But during this period Boden will have rued the two terrible wides they forced that could have put them in touching distance.

Eventually Mannion broke Boden’s scoring spell with a massive free from 47 metres out, and with Cian O’Connor (free) and Andrew McGowan chalking the final two scores up it left six between the sides with Crokes advancing to the 2018 Championship final.

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes:

Paul Mannion 0-03 (3f)
Craig Dias 1-00
Shane Horan 1-00
Andrew McGowan 0-02
Cian O’Connor 0-02 (2f)
Shane Cunningham 0-01
Dara Mullin 0-01

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s:

Colm Basquel 0-04 (3f)
Ryan Basquel 0-4 (3f)
Robbie McDaid 0-01

Kilmacud Crokes:

1. David Nestor
2. Liam Flatman
3. Andrew McGowan
19. Cillian O’Shea
5. Cian O’Connor
18. Cian O’Sullivan
12. Shane Horan
8. Craig Dias
9. Conor Casey
10.Shane Cunningham
11. Paul Mannion
12.Sean Gibbons
13. Pat Burke
14. Dara Mullin
15. Callum Pearson

Kilmacud Crokes Substitutes:

27. Tom Fox for Pat Burke (52)
28. Kevin Dyas for Shane Horan (58)
26. Stephen Williams for Shane Cunningham (60)
23. Kevin Dias for Craig Dias (63)

Ballyboden St Enda’s:

1. Darragh Gogan
22. Bob Dwan
3. Cathal Flaherty
4. Shane Clayton
5. Robbie McDaid
6. Darragh Nelson
7. Aran Waters
8. Michael Darragh Macauley
9. Declan O’Mahony
10. Darren O’Reilly
11. Colm Basquel
12. Sean Gibbons
13. Conal Keaney
14. Ryan Basquel
25. Alan Flood

Ballyboden Substitutes:

2. Shane Durkin for Bob Dwan (22)
15. Ross McGarry for Alan Flood (H/T)
20. Donogh McCane for Declan O’Mahony (44)
17. Sam Molony for Darren O’Reilly (50)
19. Tom Hannifin for Sean Gibbons (53)
23. James Holland for Robbie McDaid (60).