Kilmacud Crokes Pass Naas Test To Reach Leinster Semis


Two first half goals sent Kilmacud Crokes comfortably on their route to a Leinster Semi Final beating Naas

Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship

Kilmacud Crokes 3-14
Naas 0-14
Parnell Park

In a repeat of last year’s Leinster Senior Club Football Championship decider it was Kilmacud Crokes who powered through Kildare Champions Naas, putting them into a last four clash in Leinster with Portarlington in 2 weeks time.

Crokes were 2-07 to 0-07 the better at this afternoon’s half time break. Dara Mullin took advantage of defensive mistake by Naas clipping a fast free into an empty net with the ball boucing over the goal line as Naas Keeper Luke Mullins desperately scrambled back to try stop it. In the 23rd minute Craig Dias found himself in a point scoring position, but instead of taking the easy route, the Crokes man went for goal and found the top corner of the net.

Shane Walsh and Shane Horan found their range on the restart to lenghten the lead for Kilmacud. And by the 37th minute Andrew McGowan had found Hugh Kenny in space to finish a move resulting in the team’s third goal. From here it was all about Crokes controlling the pace of the game and playing it out to secure the win and the continued path in the Leinster football competition.

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes:

Dara Mullin 1-01 (1 mark)
Shane Cunningham 0-04 (1 mark)
Shane Walsh 0-04 (2f)
Hugh Kenny 1-00
Craig Dias 1-00
Aidan Jones 0-02
Shane Horan 0-01
Tom Fox 0-01
Cian O’Connor 0-01 (1 mark)

Scorers for Naas:

Darragh Kirwan 0-04
Alex Beirne 0-03
Luke Mullins 0-02 (2 ’45)
Eamonn Callaghan 0-02
Tom Browne 0-01
Ciaran Doyle 0-01
Brian Stynes 0-01

Kilmacud Crokes:

Conor Ferris
Michael Mullin
Theo Clancy
Dan O’Brien
Cillian O’Shea
Rory O’Carroll
Andrew McGowan
Craig Dias
Ben Shovlin
Shane Horan
Shane Cunningham
Aidan Jones
Hugh Kenny
Dara Mullin
Shane Walsh

Kilmacud Crokes Substitutes:

Tom Fox for Kenny (40)
Cian O’Connor for Horan (43)
Jeff Kenny for McGowan (52)
Anthony Quinn for Michael Mullin (55)
Brian Sheehy for Cunningahm (59)


Luke Mullins
Cathal Daly
Brian Byrne
Mark Maguire
Paddy McDermott
Eoin Doyle
Tom Browne
James Burke
Alex Beirne
Brian Kane
Dermot Hanafin
Paul McDermott
Eamonn Callaghan
Darragh Kirwan
Ciaran Doyle

Naas Substitutes:

Jack Cleary for Paul McDermott (HT)
Jack McKevitt for Kane (43)
Kevin Cummins for Ciaran Doyle (50)
Brian Stynes for Maguire (50)
Eoghan Prizeman for Browne (59)