Kilmacud Crokes Receive Seven Dubs Stars Positions As Football Team Is Announced

Dubs Stars - Dublin Bus Herald

Dublin Champions Kilmacud Crokes tip the scales in the Dublin Bus/Herald Football Dubs Stars

Dubs Stars - Dublin Bus Herald

As county football champions Kilmacud continue their preparations for the upcoming Leinster Final appearance in a couple of week’s time, they’ll be buoyed by receiving the lion’s share of this year’s Dublin Bus/Herald Football Dubs Stars spots.

Confirmed on Sunday, Crokes received seven of the starting fifteen positions. Beaten finalists St. Judes were honoured with four starting slots and one on the bench. Ballyboden St. Endas received two starting slots and a sub with th remainder of the starting fifteen made up of players from Thomas Davis and Ballymun Kickhams.

As for the remainder of the bench the places are filled by St. Vincents (2), St. Sylvesters, Skerries Harps and St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh.

It’s no surprise that David Nestor beat off the competition of Liam Mailey, Evan Comerford and Michael Savage to pick up the goal keeper slot. And you only had to witness his last minute save for Crokes against Portlaoise at the weekend for proof.

Liam Flatman and Andrew McGowan take two of the three full-back positions, with Cian O’Connor in at right half-back. Craig Dias picked up on of the two midfield slots. Shane Horan slots in at right half-forward and of course Paul Mannion’s championship performances have earned a started spot at right corner-forward.

For their efforts in their Dublin championship run, St. Judes have had Chris Guckian and Tom Lahiff in the half-back line. Mark Sweeney makes midfield, and Kevin McManamon lands a spot at left half-forward.

See below the list of winners in the 2018 Dublin Bus/Herald Football Dubs Stars Awards.

2018 Dublin Bus/Herald Football Team Of The Year

Goalkeeper: David Nestor (Kilmacud Crokes)
Right Corner-Back: Liam Flatman (Kilmacud Crokes)
Full-Back: Andrew McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes)
Left Corner-Back: Adam Fallon (Thomas Davis)
Right Half-Back: Cian O’Connor (Kilmacud Crokes)
Centre Half-Back: Chris Guckian (St Jude’s)
Left Half-Back: Tom Lahiff (St Jude’s)
Midfield: Craig Dias (Kilmacud Crokes)
Midfield: Mark Sweeney (St Jude’s)
Right Half-Forward: Shane Horan (Kilmacud Crokes)
Centre Half-Forward: Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
Left Half-Forward: Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
Right Corner-Forward: Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
Full-Forward: Ryan Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
Left Corner-Forward: Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


Liam Mailey (St. Judes), Aran Waters (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), Seán Bugler (St Oliver Plunkett’s /ER), Stephen Smith (Skerries Harps), Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s), Micheál McCarthy (St Sylvester’s)