Extra Time was needed in Navan but Dublin lose out in Leinster Minor Football Final

Leinster Minor Football Final - Dublin v Kildare

Dublin 1-19
Kildare 2-21
Pairc Tailteann, Navan

Despite pushing Kildare into extra time when Fionn Murray levelled the game on 64 minutes, Dublin were eventually beaten in today’s Leinster Minor Football Final.

Aaron Byrne and Eoin Bagnall both bagged 1-07 each for Kildare who overwhelmed Dublin in extra time, winning the silverware for the fourth time since 2013.

The teams were level as many as seven times during the normal hour of football,  four times during the opening half, which ran out to 45 minutes due to a serious injury to Dublin’s Senan Forker. After an accidental collision with two Kildare players, Forker had to be stretchered off the Pairc Tailteann pitch.

Both sides will rue missed goal chances

Dublin lead by a solitary point at half time on 0-08 to 0-07 but both sides had goal chances they didn’t convert. Bagnell attempted a shot from a free in the fourth minute and Browne, who tried to lob the Dublin keeper minutes later saw his attempt go wide.

Luke Swan rocketed a ball off the bar in the sixth, and David O’Dowd found himself through on goal in the 14th but couldn’t finish.

A minute into the second half, Dublin finally raised a green flag when Swan managed to get the ball over the line from close range. With 21 minutes remaining on the clock they were 1-09 to 0-07 in the lead.But Kildare had a massive spell, scoring 0-05 without reply over 11 minutes to draw level with Dublin.

Browne had Kildare into a one score lead and looked like holding on until full time, but Murray’s score for Dublin forced the extra time.

Kildare had too much for Dublin in the extra 20 minutes with 1-1 in the opening moments launching them into a winning position that they never let go of.

Scorers for Dublin:

Fionn Murray 0-10 (8f, 1 45′)
Luke Swan 1-01
Ryan O’Dwyer 0-04 (2f, 1 pen)
Luke Curran 0-02
Ross Keogh 0-01
Alex Rogers 0-01

Scorers for Kildare:

Eoin Bagnall 1-07 (6f)
Aaron Browne 1-07
Shane Flynn 0-03
Eoin Meehan 0-02
Mikey Delahunty 0-01
Kevin Eustace 0-01


Hugh O’Sullivan
Conor Archer
Ben Millist
Conor Tyrrell
Kieran Conroy
Senan Forker
Jack Lundy
David O’Dowd
Luke Murphy-Guinane
Ryan O’Dwyer
Luke Swan
Fionn Murray
Sean Kinsella
Ross Keogh
Alex Rogers

Dublin Substitutes:

Alex Watson for Millist (20)
Ben Harding for Forker (36)
Robbie Bolger for Kinsella (36)
Dara Fagan for O’Dwyer (48)
Tom Brennan for Keogh (48)
Harry Colclough for Lundy (52)
Michael Nealon for Archer (E/T)
Luke Curran for Rogers (E/T)
O’Dwyer for Brennan (70)
Keogh for Murphy-Guinane (H/T E/T).


Cian Burke
Tommy Gill
Conan Boran
Mark Maguire
PJ Cullen
Oisin O’Rourke
Jack Quinn
Shane Flynn
Kevin Eustace
Aaron Browne
Ciaran O’Brien
Eoin Bagnall
Oisin Milmoe
Adam Conneely
Aedan Boyle

Kildare Substitutes:

Dan Woulfe for Milmoe (36)
Mikey Delahunty for O’Brien (43)
Ryan Comeau for O’Rourke (50)
Eoin Meehan for Woulfe (57)
Matthew Whelan for Boyle (64)
Mikey Spillane for Conneely (69)
Joel Kavanagh for Maguire (70, black card)
Luke Gorman for Eustace (74)