Dublin boss Jim Gavin stays faithful to the 15 who started in Dublin’s mauling of Mayo in the recent last four clash

Jim Gavin - Dublin Starting 15

Dublin v Kerry
Sunday, September 1st. 3:30pm
Croke Park, Dublin

The wait is almost over. We’re one day away from the biggest game of the year. And one day away from what could be the biggest day in the history of Gaelic Football.

The five in a row has eluded Wexford, and Kerry twice. And tomorrow Dublin will run the final gauntlet in the hope of being the first team to be crowned five in a row All Ireland Champions. It’s something no Dublin fan would have dreamed of at the beginning of this decade. But the dream could very well become a reality at the final whistle tomorrow evening.

Kerry, a team that has played Dublin in the championship on 29 previous occasions, have the task of stopping Dublin. And with the history and rivalry between the two counties it seems quite fitting that this is the matchup that could change history.

For their performance against Mayo in this year’s Semi Final, Dublin boss Jim Gavin has stayed faithful to his starting 15 from that game, naming the same line up to start tomorrow’s Final.

Jonny Cooper, a late replacement in that team, keeps his position, meaning Cian O’Sullivan will not feature in an All Ireland Final starting 15 for the first time in his Inter County career. The Kilmacud Crokes man has been named in all six of Dublin’s All Ireland encounters this decade.

Another player who misses the starting 15 is Ballymun Kickhams Philly McMahon. McMahon, a substitute in Dublin’s 2011 winning final, has started every other final since.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Kerry)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
2. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
5. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
6. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
12. Brian Howard (Raheny)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
15. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)