Jim Gavin - Starting 15 All ireland Semi Final

Dublin manager Jim Gavin has recalled some marquee players to his starting side for their Galway encounter


Dublin v Galway
Saturday, August 11th. 5:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

It’s Semi Final day at GAA Headquarters, and at 5:00pm this evening the Dublin Senior Footballers will take part in their 51st All Ireland Semi Final when they square off against Kevin Walsh’s Galway panel, who have impressed right from the beginning of the 2018 calendar.

Gavin has made some expected changes to today’s starting 15, recalling a lot of players he had rested last weekend in their Super 8 victory over Roscommon. Eric Lowndes, Darren Daly, John Small, Paul Flynn, Kevin McManamon, Colm Basquel, Eoghan O’Gara, Cormac Costello and Paddy Andrews will all have to settle for a spot on Dublin’s bench.

This sees the return of Jonny Cooper, James McCarthy, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Niall Scully, Dean Rock, Paul Mannion, Ciaran Kilkenny, and Con O’Callaghan.

Should Dublin get the victory over Galway this evening, they be facing the winners of the Monaghan v Tyrone game in this year’s All Ireland Senior Football Final on September 2nd.

Dublin (Starting 15 v Galway)

1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Michael Fitzsimons
3. Cian O’Sullivan
4. Philly McMahon
5. Jonny Cooper
6. James McCarthy
7. Jack McCaffrey
8. Brian Fenton
9. Michael Darragh Macauley
10. Niall Scully
11. Ciaran Kilkenny
12. Brian Howard
13. Con O’Callaghan
14. Dean Rock
15. Paul Mannion

Championship Paths to Today’s Semi Final


Dublin 4-25 Wicklow 1-11 (Leinster quarter final)
Dublin 2-25 Longford 0-12 (Leinster semi final)
Dublin 1-25 Laois 0-10 (Leinster final)
Dublin 2-15 Donegal 0-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 1)
Dublin 1-14 Tyrone 0-14 ((All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 2)
Dublin 4-24 Roscommon 2-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 3)


Galway 1-12 Mayo 0-12 (Connacht quarter final)
Galway 4-24 Sligo 1-12 (Connacht semi final)
Galway 0-16 Roscommon 2-06 (Connacht final)
Galway 1-13 Kerry 1-10 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 1)
Galway 0-19 Kildare 0-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 2)
Monaghan 0-16 Galway 0-08 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 3)