Dublin face Kildare this afternoon in last four Leinster Senior Football Clash

Kildare face Dublin in today's Leinster Football Semi Final

Dublin v Kildare
Sunday, June 9th. 4:00pm
Leinster Senior Football Semi Final

Croke Park, Dublin

The talking has been done in the media. Opposition manager Cian O’Neill has had his say. Stephen Cluxton will make his 100th Championship appearance. And Dublin will take the second step in what could be a monumental year for football in the capital.

Since 2011, the Dubs have reigned supreme in the provincial competition, and on six of those occasions they’ve climbed the step of the Hogan Stand to hold Sam Maguire aloft.

The Lilywhites have the claim of running Dublin the closest in the Leinster competition. Back in the 2011 Semi Final with the final score of 1-12 to 1-11, they almost turned Dublin over. And for most Dublin fans they’re glad that never happened.

Jim Gavin has only made one change and a few positional switches to this afternoon’s starting 15. There was much talk of Paul Mannion’s CHC hearing and the result of his red card suspension being overturned. But interestingly Paul doesn’t start this afternoon.

Instead Paddy Andrews has been named in the Full Forward line. Jack McCaffrey and John Small trade placed between half and full back line. Likewise Niall Scully who was named at corner forward last time, moves back to the half forward line with Ciaran Kilkenny given the number 13 jersey.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Kildare)

  1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
  2. David Byrne (Nh Olaf)
  3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
  4. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
  5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
  6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
  7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
  8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
  9. Darren Gavin (Lucan Sarsfields)
  10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge St)
  11. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
  12. Brian Howard (Raheny)
  13. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
  14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
  15. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s).

Dublin v Kildare: Last Ten Championship Clashes

2017: Dublin 2-23 Kildare 2-10 (Leinster Final)
2015: Dublin 5-18 Kildare 0-14 (Leinster Semi Final)
2013: Dublin 4-16 Kildare 1-9 (Leinster Semi Final)
2011: Dublin 1-12 Kildare 1-11 (Leinster Semi Final)
2009: Dublin 2-15 Kildare 0-18 (Leinster Final)
2002: Dublin 2-13 Kildare 2-11 (Leinster Final)
2000: Kildare 2-11 Dublin 0-12 (Leinster Final replay)
2000: Dublin 0-14 Kildare 0-14 (Leinster Final)
1998: Kildare 0-12 Dublin 1-8 (Leinster Quarter Final replay)
1998: Dublin 0-10 Kildare 0-10 (Leinster Quarter Final)