Darren Gavin gets his Championship Debut as the Dublin Manager names a strong 15 for tonight’s clash with Louth

Dublin v Louth - Leinster Senior Football Championship

Dublin v Louth
Saturday, May 25th. 7:00pm
O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

Another Championship journey begins tonight in Portlaoise as Dublin start their potential history making road to a fifth consecutive All Ireland Championship. But Jim Gavin’s men won’t look any further than Louth and the provincial championship.

With the first starting 15 announced earlier, the Dublin boss has included 11 of the starting 15 that faced Tyrone in last year’s All Ireland Final. Stephen Cluxton, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, Cian O’Sullivan, John Small, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Ciarán Kilkenny, Paul Mannion, Con O’Callaghan and Niall Scully all get the nod to start. Cormac Costello and Michael Fitzsimons, who were substitutes in the final also make the cut. As does Darren Gavin who impressed during this year’s Allianz National Football League.

Tonight’s game is the second part of a double header in O’Moore Park, with Meath and Carlow squaring off in the first game at 5:00pm. And if Dublin are successful over Louth tonight, they’ll see themselves in Croke Park on June 9th, facing the winners of the Kildare v Longford Quarter Final taking place in O’Connor Park tomorrow.

Tonight will be the 56th Football Championship encounter between Dublin and Louth. Dublin have beaten the Wee County 36 times in total, with Louth shading the boys in blue 13 times. The games have only ended in a draw on 6 occasions. You’d have to go back as far as 1973’s Leinster Second Round replay for Louth’s last win over Dublin.

Dublin (SFC v Louth)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
2. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Darren Gavin (Lucan Sarsfields)
10. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
11. Brian Howard (Raheny)
12. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)