Goals Win Games For Dublin In Galway League Finisher


Two goals seperated Dublin and Galway as Dessie Farrell’s men concentrate on Leinster Defence in two weeks

Dublin Senior Football - Sean Bugler

Galway 0-15
Dublin 2-15

Two goals in the second half of this afternoon’s game in Pearse Stadium tied up a 2-15 to 0-15 victory for the reigning All Ireland Football Champions Dublin to finish their league campaign on the front foot. With Kerry securing the League title yesterday, Dublin finished in second place behind their rivals, but will be happy with today’s performance as they prepare to retain both their Leinster and All Ireland titles.

Dublin trailed Galway by 2 points at the break, which was a positive playing into a very strong wind, causing havoc with kickouts. But Dessie Farrell’s side were quite economical with their possession and it put them in a good position before the second half.

Green Flags Take Sting Out Of Galway’s Fight

In the build up to the second half water break, the Dubs laid down a surge of scores, and drove for home with victory in their sights. 1-03 was tallied in a six minute period, with two of Dublin’s substitutes grafting together to raise their first green flag.

Cormac Costello laid down the ground work for the goal with Sean Bugler hitting the end of Costello’s handpass to drive the ball into the Galway net to go from 2 points down to a point ahead in the 50th minute. Bugler added a point on a few minutes later giving Dublin a slightly bigger advantage before the water break. And Paddy Small pushed them out further immediately after the restart.

Both sides traded scores from here to the end of the game. But when Con O’Callaghan struck the net for Dublin’s second in the 4th minute of additional time it was game over. The Cuala forward’s fisted point effort hit the upright, but he was there to follow it in and secure the three pointer. It was only fitting that Con’s mark a minute later was the last action of the game against a much improved Galway side to the one that was beaten by Mayo last week.

Scorers for Dublin:

Con O’Callaghan 1-02 (1m)
Dean Rock 0-06 (4f)
Paddy Small 0-04 (2m)
Sean Bugler 1-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-02

Scorers for Galway:

Paul Conroy 0-08 (6f)
Robert Finnerty 0-02 (1f)
Shane Walsh 0-01
Adrian Varley 0-01 (1m)
Gary O’Donnell 0-01
Liam Silke 0-01
Jason Leonard 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
2. Cian Murphy
3. David Byrne
4. Michael Fitzsimons
5. John Small
26. Eoin Murchan
7. Robert McDaid
8. Brian Fenton
25. James McCarthy
10. Eric Lowndes
11. Ciarán Kilkenny
20. Brian Howard
13. Paddy Small
14. Con O’Callaghan
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

17. Seán Bugler for Downes (HT)
19. Cormac Costello for McCarthy (46)
21. Tom Lahiff for Howard (63)
24. Kevin McManamon for Paddy Small (68)
23. Philip McMahon for Murphy (60)


1. Bernard Power
2. Sean Kelly
3. Sean Mulkerrin
4. James Foley
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O’Donnell
7. Johnny Heaney
8. Cein D’Arcy
9. Tom Flynn
10. Paul Kelly
11. Paul Conroy
12. Jason Leonard
13. Rob Finnerty
14. Adrian Varley
15. Ian Burke

Galway Substitutes:

20. Matthias Barrett for Flynn (31)
23. Shane Walsh for Burke (HT)
24. Gary Sice for Finnerty (HT)
19. Cillian McDaid for O’Donnell (53)
18. Gareth Bradshaw for P Kelly (59)