Flashback: Dublin v Mayo 2019 All Ireland Semi Final


The last time Dublin and Mayo squared off, Dublin put in a massive second half performance

Dublin 3-14
Mayo 1-10
August 10th, 2019

In last year’s All Ireland Semi Final, Con O’Callaghan led a Dublin second half blitz of Mayo with two sublime goals. Jim Gavin’s side buried the men from the West to book their All Ireland Final place on the 1st of September.

It wasn’t all plain sailing for Dublin though and they found themselves two points down at the break. Mayo enjoyed the better of the opening 35 minutes turning over plenty of possession and enjoying more room to shoot than they could of dreamed of.

Dublin certainly weren’t at the required aggression and pace levels in the first half. And maybe as Pat Spillane so eloquently put it a few weeks previous, the Dubs were just ‘fluting around’ with Mayo. Lulling them and their supporters into a false sense of security.

The Dublin side that emerged for the second half was a completely different animal. A side full of controlled aggression and menacing pace. They blitzed Mayo for 2-07 and James Horan’s team were like rabbits caught in Dublin’s blazing headlights.

Mayo got off to a bright start and went two points up inside the opening five minutes with points from Cillian O’Connor from a free and Séamus O’Shea.

The game was all level by the 11th thanks to the ever accurate free taking of Dean Rock. Horan’s side got their noses back in front with a point from James Carr. But Dublin took the lead for the first time in semi final thanks to two Paul Mannion points.

The Connacht men though had the better of the remaining twenty minutes of the half, turning over multiple possessions and outscoring Dublin by five points to two. A Dean Rock converted free and an excellent point from Brian Howard left the score at the break 0-08 to 0-06 to Mayo.

Dublin open the floodgates and take control

Dean Rock opened the scoring in the second half with another converted free and then a move down along the Cusack Stand is involving Mannion and Kilkenny seen the latter release Con O’Callaghan. The Cuala man spotted the ball low and hard into the bottom left hand corner of the net.

Mayo were completely rattled and they struggled to win any of their kick-outs for the next 10 to 12 minutes. Dublin were cold, ruthless and calculated in punishing them. Further points from Paul Mannion, Niall Scully and Dean Rock and a brilliant second goal from O’Callaghan who left Keegan for dead, put Dublin out of sight.

A Lee Keegan goal in the 52nd minute relieved the pressure momentarily. But Dublin were in no mood to take their foot off the gas and Brian Fenton finally drove the final nail in James Horan’s sides coffin just after the hour mark with a well taken goal.

Cillian O’Connor lost his discipline and was shown a second yellow and subsequent red. On the face of it, it should have been a straight red. The Mayo forward put in a disgraceful tackle on David Byrne who had kept him shackled all game.

Jim Gavin sent on Diarmuid Connolly as the game entered injury time to a huge roar from the Dublin support.

Fergal Boland hit a late injury time point for Mayo but they had long been a beaten side well before the final whistle.

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 0-06 (6f)
Con O’Callaghan 2-00
Paul Mannion 0-05
Brian Fenton 1-01
Niall Scully 0-01
Brian Howard 0-01

Scorers for Mayo:

Lee Keegan 1-00
Cillian O’Connor 0-03 (2f)
Patrick Durcan 0-02
Colm Boyle 0-01
Séamus O’Shea 0-01
Fergal Boland 0-01
Stephen Coen 0-01
James Carr 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
2. David Byrne
20. Jonny Cooper
4. Michael Fitzsimons
5. Jack McCaffrey
6. James McCarthy
7. John Small
8. Brian Fenton
9. Michael Darragh Macauley
10. Niall Scully
11. Con Callaghan
12. Brian Howard
13. Paul Mannion
14. Dean Rock
15. Ciarán Kilkenny

Dublin Substitutes:

3. Cian O’Sullivan for Macauley (50)
25. Eoin Murchan for Small (62)
21. Cormac Costello for Mannion (66)
23. Philip McMahon for Cooper (69)
19. Diarmuid Connolly for Scully (71)
17. Paddy Andrews for O’Callaghan (71)


1. Robert Hennelly
2. Chris Barrett
3. Brendan Harrison
4. Stephen Coen
5. Lee Keegan
6. Colm Boyle
7. Patrick Durcan
8. Aidan O’Shea
9. Seamus O’Shea
10. Fionn McDonagh
21. Donal Vaughan
22. Matthew Ruane
13. Cillian O’Connor
25. Diarmuid O’Connor
15. James Carr

Mayo Substitutes:

18. Keith Higgins for Vaughan (29)
11. Kevin McLoughlin for McDonagh (50)
24. Andy Moran for Carr (53)
17. Eoin O’Donoghue for Boyle (59)
20. Tom Parsons for O’Shea (61)
12. Fergal Boland for Diarmuid O’Connor (69)

Video: GAA via Facebook