Five goals kept Dublin on course for their tenth Leinster football title in eleven years

Dublin 5-18
Kildare 0-14

June 28th 2015. Croke Park

The ruthlessness shown by Dublin on this day in 2015 wasn’t lost on the supporters who were entertained to a five goal thriller as the boys in blue remained course for yet another Leinster Championship.

50,237 fans were in on hand to see Dublin finish 19 points ahead of Kildare and comfortably into the provincial football decider on July 12th.

Scoring three goals into the Hill 16 end of Croke Park in the opening half was enough to make any opponent fold up. Dean Rock had the finish for the first one after a great Dublin team move carved Kildare apart in the 9th minute.

Three minutes later, the green flag was hoisted again. Bernard Brogan rocketed the ball goal bound after a blistering trademark run from Jack McCaffrey who initially created the chance.

Right before half time came the third. Diarmuid Connolly displayed all his skill to wave a path through the Kildare defence and roll the ball to the corner of the net.

Things got worse for Kildare after the break

After the break it was Connolly who struck the fourth, this time from the penalty spot when Dean Rock was fouled by Kildare keeper Mark Donnellan. Then Brogan added Dublin’s final goal when he palmed to the net after a clever exchange of passes from Paddy Andrews.

Kildare’s prospects looked bleak at half time trailing 3-10 to 0-6 and from there they were destined for run in the All Ireland qualifiers.

Alan Brogan delighted fans coming off the bench in the second half as he added 0-03. While Ciaran Kilkenny was the point scoring star of the first half. The threat of Connolly and Brogan was highlighted throughout as they bagged in with 2-03 a piece.

Kildare’s purple patch came in the second half when they reeled off a series of points to come 3-11 to 0-11 adrift by the 50th minute. Eoghan O’Flaherty, Padraig O’Neill and Padraig Fogarty all kicked good scores but they never came close to troubling Stephen Cluxton in the Dublin goal.

As the half progressed Dublin grew in strength to finish out the game at a canter.

Scorers for Dublin:

Diarmuid Connolly 2-03 (1-0 pen)
Bernard Brogan 2-03
Dean Rock 1-04 (4f)
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-04
Alan Brogan 0-03
Philly McMahon 0-01

Scorers for Kildare:

Eoghan O’Flaherty 0-04 (2f)
Padraig Fogarty 0-03
Padraig O’Neill 0-02
Emmet Bolton 0-01
Paul Cribbin 0-01
Cathal McNally 0-01
Alan Smith 0-01
Niall Kelly 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
4. Philip McMahon
24. Rory O’Carroll
2. Johnny Cooper
6. John Small
9. Cian O’Sullivan
7. Jack McCaffrey
8. Brian Fenton
22. Michael Darragh MacAuley
10. Paul Flynn
11. Kevin McManamon
12. Ciaran Kilkenny
13. Dean Rock
14. Diarmuid Connolly
15. Bernard Brogan

Dublin Substitutes:

23. James McCarthy for Small (43)
18. Alan Brogan for McManamon (43)
17. Paddy Andrews for Flynn (58)
20. Michael Fitzsimons for O’Carroll (58)
5. Darren Daly for O’Sullivan (64)


1. Mark Donnellan
4. Ollie Lyons
3. Mick O Grady
2. Ciaran Fitzpatrick
5. Kevin Murnaghan
7. Eoin Doyle
6. Emmet Bolton
8. Gary White
9. Paul Cribbin
10. Padraig O’Neill
11. Eoghan O’Flaherty
12. Cathal McNally
14. Alan Smith
15. Padraig Fogarty
13. Eamonn Callaghan

Kildare Substitutes:

17. David Hyland for Lyons (inj) (11)
26. Niall Kelly for Callaghan (46)
22. Tommy Moolick for White (46)
21. Hugh Lynch for McNally (55)
16. Colin Heeney for Donnellan (black card) (63)
25. Fionn Dowling for Bolton (65)

Video Credit: GAA Gold via YouTube