Flashback – Dublin v Roscommon 2018 All Ireland Super 8’s

Bernard Brogan
Bernard Brogan with David Byrne ahead of Dublin's Leinster Quarter final clash with Carlow. © Nigel McCarthy, We Are Dublin GAA

Bernard Brogan Made A Cameo As Experimental Dubs Trash Roscommon In Super 8’s

Dublin 4-24
Roscommon 2-16

Ahead of this weekend’s clash with Roscommon in Dr. Hyde Park, we look back at the last timer these two sides met.

Despite only being on the field for around 5 minutes, Dublin legend Bernard Brogan brought the house down, returning to the Dublin Senior Football panel less than six months after cruciate ligament surgery to the applause of GAA Headquarters as Dublin finished three for three in last year’s All Ireland Super 8 campaign.

Cormac Costello and Eoghan O’Gara made great use of their starting selection scoring 0-09 and 2-02 respectively, while Paul Flynn and Michael Darragh Macauley bagged the other two goals to secure victory over a spirited Roscommon side.

As many as 22 of the Dublin panel got game time as manager Jim Gavin used the fixture to assess as many as possible ahead of their All Ireland Semi Final encounter with Galway.

Dominant from the off

Dublin pounced into action right from the throw in and Eoghan O’Gara almost got off to the perfect start seeing his close range shot saved and out for a ’45, which Cormac Costello gladly obliged giving his team the opening score. And by the end of the first quarter, Costello had hit the sweet spot four more times, including a free conversion from an impossible angle from Cusack Stand side of the field. Eoghan O’Gara, Paul Flynn and John Small had also registered scores giving Dublin a 0-07 to 0-03 advantage.

With 15 minutes remaining on the clock Paul Flynn struck a powerful ball from around 20 metres out, which looked a certain point, but the ball dipped below the crossbar and into the net in front of Hill 16 for Dublin’s first of four goals.

Flynn, Costello and O’Gara continued to dominate the scoring chances for Dublin. Diarmuid and Ciaran Murtagh, and Conor Devaney had put points over for Roscommon. The gap was nine scores between the sides before Michael Darragh Macauley, received the perfect pass from Flynn, stepped through two Roscommon defenders and buried the ball into the bottom left corner for another green flag, making the gap even wider.

Diarmuid Murtagh and Niall Kilroy did their best to close the gap before the break but Cormac Costello blasted the ball over in front of an open goal, leaving Dublin 0-11 clear of their opponents at half time.

Roscommon keep fighting

Roscommon changed gears from the beginning of the second half and came out with intent. And a Gary Patterson shot, deflected off Dublin substitute Conor Mullally, found the net within seconds of the restart to give the Rossies a life line. But on five minutes, Dublin had again extended their lead. Costello struck from play and a spot kick, before Eoghan O’Gara stamped his mark on the game.

Once again involved, Costello palmed the ball to O’Gara who was poised on the edge of the large parallelogram, taking two steps in, he rocketed the ball goal bound for Dublin’s third.

Costello was replaced by Paddy Small in the 44th meaning Kevin McManamon took the role of free taker, and converted two, one either side of another perfect score from Paul Flynn. Paddy Andrews contributed a score giving Dublin a comfortable 0-16 lead before a fourth goal was added.

Eric Lowndes sent a free in high from the halfway line, finding O’Gara. the big man forced his way through two defenders and sent the ball around James Featherstone to cap a fantastic afternoon for the Templeogue Synge Street star.

Smith adds a second for Roscommon

Minutes later Donie Smith spared some of Roscommon’s blushes cracking the ball over Stephen Cluxton’s head for their second goal of the day, but with a quarter of the game still to play, the game was all but done. Jim Gavin introduced Conor McHugh and Andrew McGowan. And Bernard Brogan gave the fans five minutes of time, replacing Mark Schutte as a blood sub. At a 0-16 deficit, Roscommon to their credit dug deep to try put some respectability on the scoreline.

Diarmuid Murtagh (3), Padraig Kelly, Ciaran Lennon (2), Donie Smith (3) all rallied the Rossies through the last quarter, but Paddy Small, Mark Schutte, Philly McMahon, Conor McHugh (2) and Kevin McManamon all had answer to keep the gap as wide as 0-14.

Scorers for Dublin:

Cormac Costello 0-09 (1 45, 1f)
Eoghan O’Gara 2-02
Paul Flynn 1-03
Michael Darragh Macauley 1-00
Kevin McManamon 0-03 (2f)
Conor McHugh 0-02
John Small 0-01
Paddy Andrews 0-01
Paddy Small 0-01
Mark Schutte 0-01
Philly McMahon 0-01

Scorers for Roscommon:

Donie Smith 1-03 (1 45)
Diarmuid Murtagh 0-06 (2f)
Gary Patterson 1-00
Padraig Kelly 0-02
Ciaran Lennon 0-02
Ciarain Murtagh 0-01 (1f)
Conor Devaney 0-01
Niall Kilroy 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
4. Philly McMahon
3. Cian O’Sullivan
2. Michael Fitzsimons
5. Eric Lowndes
7. Darren Daly
19. Jack McCaffrey
26. John Small
9. Michael Darragh Macauley
8. Paul Flynn
13. Kevin McManamon
17. Colm Basquel
12. Cormac Costello
11. Eoghan O’Gara
15. Paddy Andrews

Dublin Substitutions:

22. Conor Mulally for O’Sullivan (H/T)
6. James McCarthy for McCaffrey (H/T)
25. Paddy Small for Costello (47)
24. Mark Schutte for J. Small (47)
21. Conor McHugh for O’Gara (53)
20. Andrew McGowan for Daly (60)
18. Bernard Brogan for Schutte (62-66, blood)


1. James Fetherston
2. David Murray
3. Peter Domican
4. Niall McInerney
5. John McManus
6. Darra Pettit
7. Ross Timothy
8. Tadhg O’Rourke
9. Enda Smith
10. Niall Kilroy
11. Ciarain Murtagh
12. Conor Devaney
13. Diarmuid Murtagh
14. Brian Stack
15. Ciaran Lennon

Roscommon Substitutions:

24. Padraig Kelly for Kilroy (H/T)
21. Gary Patterson for Timothy (H/T)
22. Ian Kilbride for Domican (49)
20. Donal Smtih for Stack (49)
17. Cathal Cregg for C Murtagh (56)
25. Sean McDermott for McManus (66)

(Video Credit: GAA Now via IrelandHDEditor)