Farrell Names Starting 15 for Road Trip To Derry


It’s a top of the table clash in Celtic Park as Dublin take on joint leaders Derry in a crunch Division 2 Clash

Derry v Dublin Starting 15

Derry v Dublin
Allianz National Football League Division 2
Saturday, March 4th. 5:00pm
Celtic Park, Derry

For weeks now a lot of attention has been focused on this Round 5 clash between Dublin and Derry in Division 2 of the National Football League. With three games remaining the sides are deadlocked at the top of the table and it will take a massive upset to see either of the sides lose their spot in the promotion to Division 1. But this Division has proved to be extremely competitive.

The Dubs have had a 9 points win over Limerick, but have only eeked past Kildare, Cork and Clare by a point or 2. On the other hand, apart from a close game against Louth, Derry are averaging 10 points wins. It makes for an interesting contest.

Dublin head to Meath next weekend before finishing the round phases against Louth in Croke Park. But this game is crucial in the growth of the team.

Dessie Farrell has named his starting 15 to face Derry. There are two changes to the side from the team that started in last weekend’s win over Clare.

Niall Scully and Cormac Costello come in to start in place of David Byrne and Sean Lowry.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Derry)

1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)
2. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
3. Seán MacMahon (Raheny)
4. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Tom Lahiff (St. Judes)
10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St Endas)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
13. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
14. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams
15. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)