Farrell Names Dublin Starting 15 for League Final Encounter

Dublin v Kerry - Michael Fitzsimons
Michael Fitzsimons was sent to the bench after a second yellow card tonight.

It’s the last hurdle for Dublin as they face a strong Derry side for the Division 2 crown at Croke Park

Dublin Starting 15 v Derry - NFL Final

Dublin v Derry
Allianz National Football League. Division 2 Final
Sunday, April 2nd. 1:45pm
Croke Park, Dublin

If the round robin clash between these two sides is anything to go by, then tomorrow’s Division 2 Football League Final is set to be an epic match up. For Derry it’s the opportunity to maintain their unbeaten run. For Dublin it’s a chance to atone for the loss they suffered at Celtic Park earlier this year.

A second half comeback from the home side that day ensured the victory and the continuation of the unbeaten streak. Beating Dublin at any juncture is a huge scalp so tomorrow Derry will come to Croke Park hoping to make it a double and pick up the Division 2 Silverware. But Dublin have in some ways become a different beast since their trip to Ulster.

A returning Paul Mannion and Stephen Cluxton have again bolstered Dessie Farrell’s hand as he plans further into the season in the hope of challenging for the All Ireland title again. And with glimpses of their class displayed in the league campaign, their return to Division 1 was in the end a foregone conclusion.

Dessie Farrell has named his starting 15 to face Derry tomorrow in the league final opener at Croke Park. And there are two changes to the side that started and beat Louth last weekend.

Dean Rock and Ross McGarry come into the starting lineup, with Cormac Costello and Killian O’Gara making way.

Dublin Senior Football Starting 15 (v Derry)

1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
5. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
10. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
12. Seán Bugler (St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh)
13. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)
14. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
15. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St. Endas)