End Of The Road For The Dublin Minors As Mayo Edge The Win


It could have ended differently but the Dublin Minors are out of the All Ireland at the first hurdle

Dublin Minors Lose out to Mayo in All Ireland Quarter FInal

Dublin 2-19
Mayo 5-12

In a thrilling opening game in Glennon Bros Pearse Park Mayo secured their path to the All Ireland Minor Football Semi Final with victory over the Dublin Minors. Mayo Keeper Luke Jennings denied Dublin’s Fionn Murray hold on for a win. Had the shot hit the net it would have been Dublin’s day by the minimum.

Goals for the Connacht champions came from Ethan Henry, Ciaran Mylett, Ruairi Keane Rory Morrin and Paul Walsh. But the victory must go to Jenning in goal who was relied on heavily for the afternoon.

Ciaran Mylett got the scoreboard up and running with Dara Fagan equalising for Dublin. But Mayo would turn the screw and dominate the opening quarter leading 2-03 to 0-02 on 15 minutes. Ethan

Oran Farrell blocked an Aidan Cosgrave attempt to give Ethan Henry a convert from a ’45. The first of today’s seven goals came in the seventh. A quick pass from Mark Tighe sent Paul Walsh on a powerful run at Dublin’s defence before he finished brilliantly.

A Fionn Murray free was cancelled out by a score from Dylan Thornton. Luke Swan had an opportunity for Dublin but corner back Alfie Morrison stopped him in his tracks. Ethan Henry too had a long range shot hit the post but Mylett reacted first and tapped it into the goal giving Mayo a seven score advantage. Fionn Murray converted two frees to try close that gap but three scores from Frank Irwin only pushed Mayo’s lead out.

Colm Walsh, Murray, Ross Keogh and Alex Rogers all bagged Dublin scores before the half to close the gap to a 2-08 to 0-08 half time score.

Nothing between the sides after the break

Ethan Henry netted Mayo’s third three minutes into the second half, but in Dublin’s best spell they scored five unanswered points on the bounce. Ruari Keane ended that run scoring Mayo’s fourth goal with the score at 4-09 to 0-15.

By the 51st minute the sides were level. Luke Curran had only scored a point when he got possession and half volleyed the ball into the Mayo net. A minute later Alex Rogers bagged Dublin’s second goal. The game hung in the balance. But five minutes from time a fumble in the Dublin back line saw Rory Marrin given the perfect opportunity and he made no mistake sending the ball past O’Sullivan for Mayo’s 5th.

The Dublin Minors would lose Oran Farrell to a black card, and Irwin converted the resulting free to put them 5-11 to 2-17 clear.

Murray converted a ’45’ for Dublin and as the game moved into added time the Dubs had a claim for a penalty when the ball looked to be handled on the ground. But it wasn’t too be.

In the fifth minute of injury-time, after Luke Curran had put over a free, Mayo escaped another goalmouth scramble and with it Dublin’s championship dreams were ended.

Dublin Scorers:

Fionn Murray 0-10 (5f, 2 45)
Alex Rogers 1-03
Luke Curran 1-02 (1f)
Dara Fagan 0-01
Colm Walsh 0-01
Ross Keogh 0-01
Luke Swan 0-01

Mayo Scorers:

Frank Irwin 0-05 (3f)
Ethan Henry 1-01 (1 45)
Ciarán Mylett 1-01
Ruairí Keane 1-01
Rory Morrin 1-00
Paul Walsh 1-00
Dylan Thornton 0-03
John Grady 0-01


1. Hugh O’Sullivan
2. Conor Tyrell
3. Oran Farrell
4. Conor Archer
5. Kieran Conroy
19. Senan Forker
7. Dara Purcell
8. Harry Colclough
9. Colm Walsh
10. Dara Fagan
11. Seán Kinsella
12. Fionn Murray
13. Alex Rogers
14. Luke Swan
15. Robbie Bolger

Dublin Substitutes:

20. Ross Keogh for Bolger (24)
24. Liam Fenton for Fagan (30)
23. David O’Dowd for Colclough (35)
18. Alex Watson for Purcell (36)
21. Luke Curran for Kinsella (40)
17. Michael Nealon for Farrell (black card) (57)


1. Luke Jennings
2. Alfie Morrison
3. Oisín Tunney
4. Aidan Cosgrove
5. Shaun Dempsey
6. Ruairí Keane
7. Eoin Gilraine
22. Mark Tighe
9. Ethan Henry
10. Ciarán Mylett
11. Owen McHale
12. Dylan Thornton
13. Paul Walsh
14. Ray Walsh
15. Frank Irwin

Mayo Substitutes:

18. Rory Morrin for Tunney (30)
8. Paddy Heneghan or R Walsh (35)
20. John Grady for Mylett (40)
23. Ciarán Boland for Morrison (45)
24. Conor Reid for Tighe (52)
21. Ronan Hughes for Henry (63)