Eleventh Consecutive Leinster Title Secured As Dublin See Off Kildare


A slight improvement on Dublin’s Semi Final performance as they capture their 11th Leinster title on the bounce

Leinster Champions - Dublin v Kildare

Leinster Senior Football Final
Dublin 0-20
Kildare 1-09
Croke Park, Dublin

Tactical, more clinical, and more improved than their performance against Meath. Dublin have been crowned Leinster Senior Football Champions for the Eleventh consecutive year after seeing off a spirited challenge from Jack O’Connor’s Kildare panel.

It’s certainly been a slower build but from their Quarter Final win over Wexford to this afternoon’s Delaney Cup win, Dublin are slowly improving. They meet Mayo in 2 weeks time in the All Ireland Semi Final. The Seven In A Row is still on the cards, and Mayo manager James Horan will pay no need to rumours of Dublin’s demise.

A clinical second half saw Dublin score four points to go eight clear of Kildare and beyond a doubt. Daniel Flynn did ignite the game in the 62nd minute taking full advantage of a turnover to rocket the ball past Evan Comerford giving Kildare a lifeline. But it didn’t break Dublin’s nerve. Ciaran Kilkenny converted a mark minutes later, and Cormac Costello bagged a brace to cancel the goal on the scorecard.

Kildare will be disappointed only scoring a third of their point attempts in the first half. They watched so many chances fall into the hands of Comerford giving Dublin back ball possession. Dublin were also guilty of wasted opportunities but created more chances and holding possession for large parts of the 70 plus minutes.

Dessie Farrell will be disappointed his side made some very out of character errors in attack. And they never really threatened Mark Donnellan’s net but scored the last three points of the half. Cormac Costello finishing well after a great Mick Fitzsimons turnover in the middle of the field, to lead 0-9 to 0-5 at the interval.

Dublin Scorers:

Dean Rock 0-05 (3f)
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-04 (1 mark)
Cormac Costello 0-04
Niall Scully 0-02 (1 mark)
James McCarthy 0-01
Con O’Callaghan 0-01
Paddy Small 0-01
Brian Howard 0-01
Ryan Basquel 0-01

Kildare Scorers:

Daniel Flynn 1-02 (1 mark)
Jimmy Hyland 0-04 (2f)
Neil Flynn 0-01
Alex Bierne 0-01
Brian McLaughlin 0-01


1. Evan Comerford
2. Michael Fitzsimons
3. David Byrne
4. Jonny Cooper
5. James McCarthy
6. Brian Howard
7. Sean McMahon
8. Brian Fenton
26. John Small
10. Paddy Small
11. Ciaran Kilkenny
12. Niall Scully
13. Cormac Costello
14. Con O’Callaghan
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

Eoin Murchan for John Small (Blood Sub 42)
Colm Basquel for Rock (54)
Sean Bugler for Paddy Small (61)
Tom Lahiff for Cooper (69)
Ryan Basquel for O’Callaghan (71)
Emmet Ó Conghaile for Kilkenny (73)


1. Mark Donnellan
2. Mark Dempsey
3. Mick O’Grady
18. Darragh Malone
5. Ryan Houlihan
6. David Hyland
7. Kevin Flynn
8. Luke Flynn
9. Aaron Masterson
17. Shea Ryan
11. Fergal Conway
12. Neil Flynn
13. Ben McCormack
14. Daniel Flynn
15. Jimmy Hyland

Kildare Substitutes:

Alex Bierne for Conway (45)
Niall Kelly for Houlihan (45)
Darragh Kirwan for Hyland (58)
Brian McLaughlin for Neill Flynn (61)
Shane O’Sullivan for McCormack (65)