Following another Leinster success, Donegal await the Dublin Senior Footballers this weekend in their first Super 8 clash

History will be made tomorrow afternoon as Dublin, Donegal, Tyrone and Roscommon and their supporters will descend on Croke Park for the first two games in the brand new All Ireland Football Super 8 Series, replacing the existing Quarter Final stage of the competition. And for football fans far and wide the action continues on Sunday as Kildare, Monaghan, Kerry and Galway will finish off the first round.

DUBSTV caught up with Eric Lowndes as the boys in blue prepare for tomorrow nights tricky tie.

For Dublin and Donegal, this will be the second time in three years they’ve met in the Championship, with Dublin winning their last All Ireland encounter 1-15 o 1-10 in 2016.

Jim Gavin’s Championship journey so far has been a smooth one, seeing off Wicklow, Longford and Laois to capture eight consecutive Leinster Title, sending into Group 2 of the Super 8 Competition along with the Ulster Champions and two qualifiers.

Their Opponents

For Donegal, they played four Ulster Championship games, beating Cavan, Derry and Down before overcoming Fermanagh in this year final by 2-18 to 0-12.

The Dubs have already registered seven goals and seventy five in the 2018 Championship, with Dean Rock and Ciaran Kilkenny taking credit for 2-16 and 2-15 respectively. For Donegal, an extra game has tallied their score at eight goals and seventy six points, but losing top scorer Paddy McBrearty to a cruciate injury for the rest of the year puts a dent into their plans and could prove costly.

With seven championship meetings between these two sides, Dublin edge the contest with three wins, Donegal have two, with the 2014 All Ireland Semi Final upset being the most recent. 2002 saw the teams draw in the All Ireland Quarter Final, with Dublin winning the resulting replay 1-14 to 0-07.

Championship Results So Far

Leinster Championship:

Dublin 4-25 Wicklow 1-11 (Quarter Final)
Dublin 2-25 Longford 0-12 (Semi Final)
Dublin 1-25 Laois 0-10 (Final)

Top Scorers:

D Rock 2-16 (12f, 1’45’)
C Kilkenny 2-15
B Fenton 1-09
C O’Callaghan 1-07

Ulster Championship:

Donegal 2-20 Cavan 1-15 (Preliminary Round)
Donegal 2-16 Derry 0-16 (Quarter Final)
Donegal 2-22 Down 1-12 (Semi Final)
Donegal 2-18 Fermanagh 0-12 (Final)

Top Scorers:

P McBrearty 0-19 (6f)
M Murphy 0-17 (9f 1’45’)
R McHugh 2-06
J Brennan 1-07

Previous Championship Clashes

2016: Dublin 1-15 Donegal 1-10 (All Ireland Quarter Final)
2014: Donegal 3-14 Dublin 0-17 (All Ireland Semi Final)
2011: Dublin 0-8 Donegal 0-6 (All Ireland Semi Final)
2002: Dublin 1-14 Donegal 0-7 (All Ireland Quarter Final Replay)
2002: Dublin 2-8 Donegal 0-14 (All Ireland Quarter Final)
1992: Donegal 0-18 Dublin 0-14 (All Ireland Final)

Quarter Final Record

Dublin have played 19 quarter-finals, winning 11, drawing three and losing five, their last defeat at this stage was against Kerry in 2009. Donegal have played 12 quarter-finals, winning four, drawing two and losing six.

Donegal were of course the last county to beat Dublin in the championship, winning by 3-14 to 0-16 in the 2014 All-Ireland Semi Final.

Dublin beat Donegal (0-20 to 0-15) in Croke Park in the Allianz Football League this February.

(video credit: DUBSTV via YouTube)