Dubs Banish Losing Streak With Confident Win Over Tyrone


After four league games the Dublin senior footballers finally got up and running with an away win over Tyrone

Tyrone v Dublin - James McCarthy

Tyrone 0-08
Dublin 0-13
Healy Park, Omagh

It may not have been the form Dublin supporters really want to see their beloved footballers return to. But after four upsetting defeats, things looked so much more promising this afternoon in Healy Park. Dessie Farrell’s men have given themselves a crucial life in this year’s league campaign with a five point win over Tyrone. They’ve still to face Donegal and Monaghan, but the manner in which they carved out today’s result will have pleased the Dublin manager.

At half time, the reigning All Ireland Champions were in world of trouble as Dublin had methodically built an 0-11 to 0-02 lead, scoring every one of their scores from play. Tyrone’s two scores came from frees by Darren McCurry and Cathal McShane. Conn Kilpatrick thought he’d given his side a lifeline with the ball in the net on the stroke of half time, but referee Barry Cassidy overruled on the basis of a foul on Evan Comerford.

Ciaran Kilkenny (2), Cormac Costello and Dean Rock had got the Dubs into a 0-04 to 0-01 lead before Tyrone lost Padraig Hampsey to a black card. Brian Fenton, Costello, Niall Scully, Tom Lahiff, Rock, Sean Bugler and Robbie McDaid pushed Dublin out of sight of their opponents to close out  the opening session.

A stronger seond half for the red hand

Tyrone’s woes were extended on the restart. After regaining Hampsey to their ranks, the full back was dismissed again on a yellow resulting in a red after an altercation with Cormac Costello off the pitch.

A scrappy second half ensued with Tyrone frantically attemtping to narrow the gap and save face. But Dublin’s workrate after a powerful first half had laid a solid foundation for their first win in the conpetition. However the home side did run through their best spell. McCurry and McShane added more converted frees before substitute Richie Donnelly got his team’s first score form play.

Dublin fans saw the return of James McCarthy as the Ballymun star spearheaded Dublin’s closing stages. Sean Bugler will rue a screamer hitting the crossbar to deny them a goal. But the Plunketts man and Dean Rock kept the ship steady to draw a line under their first win in the football league.

Scorers for Tyrone:

Darren McCurry 0-03 (3f)
Richie Donnelly 0-02
Cathal McShane 0-2 (2f)
Niall Sludden (0-01)

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 0-03
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-02
Cormac Costello 0-02
Sean Bugler 0-02
Robbie McDaid 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Tom Lahiff 0-01
Niall Scully 0-01


Niall Morgan
Michael McKernan
Ronan McNamee
Frank Burns
Conor Meyler
Johnny Munroe
Peter Harte
Conn Kilpatrick
Padraig Hampsey
Nathan Donnelly
Niall Sludden
Kieran McGeary
Darren McCurry
Cathal McShane
Darragh Canavan

Tyrone Substitutes:

Conor McKenna for Donnelly (33)
Richie Donnelly for Monroe (HT)
Michael Conroy for McGeary (HT)
Liam Rafferty for Sludden (59)
Paul Donaghy for McShane (68)


Evan Comerford
Michael Fitzsimons
David Byrne
Cian Murphy
John Small
Jonny Cooper
Robbie McDaid
Brian Fenton
Tom Lahiff
Brian Howard
Sean Bugler
Niall Scully
Cormac Costello
Ciaran Kilkenny
Dean Rock 

Dublin Substitutes:

Eoin Murchan for Cooper (50)
James McCarthy for Lahiff (52)
Ryan Basquel for Costello (65)
Lee Gannon for McDaid (70)
Lorcan O’Dell for Bugler (73)