Dublin Woes Continue As Kerry Deliver Them Their Second League Defeat

National League - Kerry v Dublin

Two league losses from two games now for Dessie Farrell’s Senior Football Panel as Kerry deserve the win

National League - Kerry v Dublin

Kerry 1-15
Dublin 0-11
Austin Stack Park, Tralee

All over in Tralee and it’s back to the drawing board again for Dessie Farrell and the Dublin Senior Footballers. Kerry recovered from a spluttering start last week against Kildare to pick up a home win tonight, but Dublin add another defeat to their Round 1 league loss to Armagh.

A strong second quarter saw Kerry put 1-09 past the Dubs without reply. Dara Moynihan broke through Dublin’s rearguard and netted to highlight Kerry’s dominance in the quarter. At half time with the scoreboard reading 1-14 to 0-04, with Dublin wondering how they could chip away the deficit.

Despite being named in the starting 15 for Dublin, there was no James McCarthy or Con O’Callaghan. Dessie’s men were bright in the opening quarter, but there were a few spanners thrown into the works early. They lost Niall Scully to a black card, and a fortuitous goal scored by Dean Rock in the same play was cancelled by the referee.

Sean Bugler also had a great goal opportunity parried by Kerry keeper Shane Murphy. But Kerry recovered quickly from both near chances. David Clifford sent a penalty wide, but soon set the scoreboard ticking along with Sean O’Shea.

Damage Limitation for Dublin in the second half

The only positive for Dublin is they won the second half, but the nails were well and truly driven into the coffin at that point. Kerry managed a point from Paul Geaney in the 47th.

Tom Lahiff and Paudie Clifford both received black cards to add some more drama to the tie. Ciaran Kilkenny, Brian Howard, Brian Fenton, Ryan Basquel and Dean Rock (3f) all added score to put a little respectability to the scoreline, but there will be a lot of work needed for Dublin to recover from back to back league defeats.

Scorers for Kerry:

Sean O’Shea 0-05 (3f)
David Moynihan 1-01
David Clifford 0-04
Paul Geaney 0-03 (1m)
Diarmuid O’Connor 0-01
Paudie Clifford 0-01

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 0-05 (4f)
Evan Comerford 0-01 (f)
Brian Howard 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
Sean Bugler 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Ryan Basquel 0-01


1. Shane Murphy
2. Dan O’Donoghue
3. Jason Foley
4. Tom O’Sullivan
5. Paul Murphy
6. Tadhg Morley
7. Brian Ó Beaglaioch
8. Diarmuid O’Connor
9. Jack Barry
10. Adrian Spillane
11. Seán O’Shea
12. Dara Moynihan
13. Paudie Clifford
14. David Clifford
15. Paul Geaney

Kerry Substitutes:

24. Stephen O’Brien for Spillane (54)
20. Tony Brosnan for Geaney (63)
18. Micheal Burns for Moynihan (65)
22. Jack Savage for P Clifford (temp, 70)
19. Gavin Crowley for T Morley (70)
17. Killian Spillane for D Clifford (temp, 71)
23. Dylan Casey for O’Donoghue (72)


1. Evan Comerford
2. Lee Gannon
3. David Byrne
4. Sean McMahon
17. Darragh Conlon
6. Brian Howard
7. John Small
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
10. Sean Bugler
11. Ciaran Kilkenny
12. Niall Scully
24. Lorcan O’Dell
20. Cameron McCormack
26. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

14. Ciaran Archer for O’Dell (50)
13. Ryan Basquel for McCormack (50)
15. Ross McGarry for Scully (65)
21. Killian McGinnis for Small (67)
5. CJ Smith for Conlon (73)