Dean Rock - All Ireland Semi FInal

A closer look at the scoring stats of both Dublin and Galway ahead of tomorrow’s All Ireland Semi Final


Tomorrow evening Dublin will square off against Galway in the All Ireland Senior Football Championship for the first time since 1983. Dublin are aiming for an historic fourth Championship in a row. Galway are aiming to reach their first final since their Championship victory over Meath in 2001. And thats the last time they reached an All Ireland decider.

For the Tribesmen, tomorrow will be their 42nd Championship Semi Final as they bid to lift the Sam Maguire for the 10th time. Jim Gavin’s boys in blue would love nothing more than to capture their 28th and inch another bit closer to Kerry in the record books in what will be their 51st Semi Final appearance.

Both sides have played six championship games to date, with Dublin keeping a 100% win record, and Galway dropping one game with their loss against Monaghan last weekend.


Dublin have scored a whopping 14-128 (170) and conceded 3-79 (88) in their six appearances so far this summer against Wicklow, Longford, Laois in the Leinster Championship, and Donegal, Tyrone and Roscommon in the All Ireland Super 8’s. Their biggest winning margin from the six games was their 23 point victory over Wicklow in O’Moore Park at the beginning of the provincial competition.

As many as twenty one players have registered scores for Dublin, with Dean Rock leading the line with 2-29. Ten of the twenty one have raised green flags, with Rock, Ciaran Kilkenny, Eoghan O’Gara and Niall Scully claiming a brace each.

Dublin’s Championship Record in 2018

Dublin 4-25 Wicklow 1-11 (Leinster quarter final)
Dublin 2-25 Longford 0-12 (Leinster semi final)
Dublin 1-25 Laois 0-10 (Leinster final)
Dublin 2-15 Donegal 0-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 1)
Dublin 1-14 Tyrone 0-14 ((All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 2)
Dublin 4-24 Roscommon 2-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 3)

Dublin’s Scorers

Dean Rock 2-29 (21f, 2 ‘45’)
Ciarán Kilkenny 2-18
Cormac Costello 0-15 (2f, 1 ‘45’)
Brian Fenton 1-09
Con O’Callaghan 1-07
Paul Flynn 1-06
Niall Scully 2-02
Eoghan O’Gara 2-02
Paddy Andrews 0-07
Paul Mannion 1-04
Brian Howard 0-06
James McCarthy 1-02
Philly McMahon 0-04
Conor McHugh 0-04 (1f)
Kevin McManamon 0-04 (2f)
Michael Darragh Macauley 1-01
Colm Basquel 0-03
John Small 0-02
Jack McCaffrey 0-01
Paddy Small 0-01
Mark Schutte 0-01


Kevin Walsh’s Galway side have had am impressive year, scoring 6-92 (110) and conceding just 4-72 (84) in their six games so far in the Championship with last Saturday’s loss to Monaghan coming on the back of successive wins over Mayo, Sligo, Roscommon in the Connacht Championship, and Kerry and Kildare in the Super 8’s. They beat Sligo in the provincial semi final by 0-21 recording their biggest winning margin.

Shane Walsh 0-27 makes him Galway’s leading scorer, scoring in every championship game. Five of the panel have scored goals, with Damien Comer the only player to score twice.

In total, 20 players have contributed to the Galway scoreboard.

Galway’s Championship Record in 2018

Galway 1-12 Mayo 0-12 (Connacht quarter final)
Galway 4-24 Sligo 1-12 (Connacht semi final)
Galway 0-16 Roscommon 2-06 (Connacht final)
Galway 1-13 Kerry 1-10 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 1)
Galway 0-19 Kildare 0-16 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 2)
Monaghan 0-16 Galway 0-08 (All-Ireland Super 8’s – Phase 3)

Galway’s Scorers

Shane Walsh 0-27 (16f)
Damien Comer 2-11
Ian Burke 1-09
Seán Kelly 1-06
Eamonn Brannigan 0-06
Johnny Heaney 1-03
Barry McHugh 0-05 (4f)
Peter Cooke 0-04
Patrick Sweeney 1-01
Seán Armstrong 0-03
Adrian Varley 0-03
Gary O’Donnell 0-03
Ciarán Duggan 0-02
Tom Flynn 0-02
Michael Daly 0-02
Gareth Bradshaw 0-01
Paul Conroy 0-01
Frankie Burke 0-01
Declan Kyne 0-01
Cathal Sweeney 0-01