Dublin U20's - Leinster Final

It’s the last game in the provincial football champions for the Dublin U20’s

Dublin v Kildare
Friday, July 6th. 7:30pm
O’Connor Park, Tullamore

On the surface it probably looks like the Dublin U20’s have cruised through the inaugural Leinster U20 Football Championship, but there have been some serious competitive match ups during the competition, which culminates tonight, with the Dubs facing Kildare for the honour of being crowned the first ever winner of this Eirgrid sponsored championship.

Tom Gray’s men started their journey in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park back on May 18th with a 2-21 to 0-11 win over Longford in Round 1 of 3. A week later it was as you were as Dublin welcomed Westmeath to Parnell Park and again ran out the victors on 2-16 to 1-13. Another road trip, this time to Innovate Wexford Park and another win making it three for three and as a result advanced automatically to the competition Semi Finals and a crunch tie against Meath, once again as the away team.

But Pairc Tailteann brought good fortune to the Dublin side and four goals from James Doran (2), Ross McGarry and Karl Lynch Bissett all helped the Dubs put Meath away convincingly to set up tonight’s clash with Kildare.

The Lillies has a slightly different route, thanks to a round 2 defeat at the hands of a strong Meath side. But their wins over Laois and Wicklow were enough to warrant a Quarter Final slot. A comprehensive win over Carlow there, and a 31-4 to 2-05 win over Offaly in the Semi Final brings them to tonight’s clash with the Dubs.

Tom Gray names an unchanged side for this Leinster Final to the side that beat Meath convincingly at the weekend.

Dublin (U20 FC v Kildare)

1. David O’Hanlon – Na Fianna
2. Nathan Nolan – Kilmacud Crokes
3. Nathan Doran – Clontarf
4. Ciaran Smith – Lucan Sarsfields
5. Kieran Kennedy – Ballyboden St Endas
6. Neil Matthews – Erins Isle
7. Eoin O’Dea – Na Fianna
8. Donal Ryan – Na Fianna
9. Cormac Howley – Round Towers Lusk
10. Tom Keane – Naomh Olaf
11. James Madden – Ballyboden St. Endas
12. Ross McGarry – Ballyboden St. Endas
13. Dan O’Brien – Kilmacud Crokes
14. James Doran – Na Fianna
15. Sean Bugler – St.Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh