Dublin Tough It Out Against Kildare To Book Leinster Final Slot


A late surge from Kildare wasn’t enough as Dublin held on to clinch Leinster Minor Football Decider Slot

Leinster Minor Football Semi Final - Dublin v Kildare

Dublin 0-13
Kildare 2-05
Parnell Park

Ger Lyon’s Dublin Minor Football Panel toughed it out this afternoon at Parnell Park. And despite a late charge from Kildare in the last 10 minutes it was Dublin who ran out winners, setting up Leinster Final date with Meath next week.

Tadgh Gorman lead the charge for Dublin scoring 0-05 of their 0-13 this afternoon. But it was a massive effort all round, with some quality defensive work that got the Dubs over the line. Dublin lead for the majority of the game, with the sides level only three times.

Dublin lead by 0-10 to 1-02 at the second half water break, and looked comfortable. But a 52nd minute goal from forward Elliot Beirne sprung Kildare into life. Gavin Thomspon registered three points in succession to give his side a one point lead before Ronan Geoghegan levelled the sides again. Another Gorman point and a converted mark from substitute Karl Flynn was enough to give Dublin a 0-02 lead and hold out to qualify for the Leinster Final.

After a strong Dublin start there was only a score in it at half time

Despite a slow start Dublin were leading by 0-04 to 0-00 by the first half water break. After Tadgh Gorman converted a free for their opening score, he went on to score the next three scores with little response from Kildare. They eventually got their first score on the board when Gavin Thompson knocked over a free. And moments later Fionn Cooke hit the net and all of a sudden the game was tied for the first time with 3 minutes remaining on the clock.

Scott McConnell scored Dublin last point of the half to give them the minimum lead of 0-05 to 1-01 at the break.

Dublin Scorers:

Tadgh Gorman 0-05 (2f)
Mark McNally 0-02
Ciaran Duggan 0-02
Scott McConnell 0-01
Sean Gannon 0-01 (1f)
Ronan Geoghegan 0-01
Karl Flynn 0-01 (1 mark)

Kildare Scorers:

Gavin Thompson 0-04 (2f)
Elliot Beirne 1-01
Fionn Cooke 1-00


1. Charlie Coghlan
2. Finn Bruton
3. Dan Murphy
4. Ronan Geoghegan
5. Matthew Gardiner
6. Greg McEneaney
7. David Colbert
8. Ciarán Duggan
9. Eoghan O’Connor Flanagan
10. Ross Mullarkey
11. Mark McNally
12. Zach Delmar
13. Tadhg Gorman
14. Seán Gannon
15. Scott McConnell


1. David MacPartlin
2. Robert Fitzgerald
3. Sean Browne
4. Padraig Daly
5. Dara Crowley
6. Daniel Lenehan
7. Killian Doherty
8. James Harris
9. Mark Gibbons
10. Killian Browne
11. Patrick Mahoney
12. Fionn Cooke
13. Gavin Thompson
14. Colm Dalton
15. Elliot Beirne

More details to follow…