Dublin Too Good As They Sweep Away Mayo at Croke Park

Dublin v Kerry - Michael Fitzsimons
Michael Fitzsimons was sent to the bench after a second yellow card tonight.

Dublin sent a clear message to the remaining sides in the All Ireland Championship this afternoon

Dublin v Kerry - Michael Fitzsimons

Dublin 2-17 Mayo 0-11
All Ireland Senior Football Quarter Final
Sunday July 2nd. Croke Park

Dublin landed their seventh championship win over Mayo in 10 years earlier, and the manner they did it will make the remaining teams in this year’s All Ireland sit up now and take notice. Two Colm Basquel goals paved the way for their biggest win over their Connacht opponents in a decade.

While there was only a score seperating the sides at half time, the dressing room team talk among the men from the capital certainly bore fruit as Dublin outscored Mayo by 1-11 to 0-03 on the restart. And after the second goal hit the net it was game over as Mayo struggled to recover and make any impact on proceedings.

Paul Mannion, Colm Basquel and Brian Fenton all found their range on the restart to push Dublin’s lead out to 0-04 before Basquel scored his second goal in the 41st. Enda Hession attempted to protect the ball going wide under pressure from Mannion. Cormac Costello recovered it and squared it off to Basquel for the perfect finish past Reape.

Mayo needed score but they just didn’t come as Dublin manged to continually break down their offence at every opportunity. Paddy Durcan broke a 28 minute baron spell but their bad luck continued when Eoghan McLaughlin rifled off the woodwork for their only clear goal chance.
A tight first half didn’t sell the events of the restart

Nothing really seperated these teams in the opening session, and Mayo to their credit had very positive spells before Dublin’s engine heated up. And the game was relatively tit for tat. Basquel caught a David Byrne ball in the 18th minute to eventually put his side in the driving seat. But Mayo responded impressively as Tommy Conroy responded immediately to begin a spell of four scores.

Cormac Costello comfortably converted two free to get Dublin back on terms. Dublin had the opportunity to raise another green flag when Niall Scully palmed the ball off the posts, only for James McCarthy to convert the rebound to a point to give Dublin a one score lead at the break.

For Mayo, the Championship season ends and for Dublin they’ll now go on to face Monaghan in 2 weeks time for a chance of a place in this year’s decider.

Scorers for Dublin:

Colm Basquel 2-02
Cormac Costello 0-05 (3f)
James McCarthy 0-02
Con O’Callaghan 0-02
Paul Mannion 0-02
Brian Fenton 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Dean Rock 0-01
Paddy Small 0-01

Scorers for Mayo:

Ryan O’Donoghue 0-05 (2f)
Tommy Conroy 0-02
Aidan O’Shea 0-01 (1f)
Colm Reape 0-01 (1 ’45)
Paddy Durcan 0-01
Jordan Flynn 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton
17. David Byrne
3. Michael Fitzsimons
4. Lee Gannon
5. James McCarthy
6. John Small
23. Eoin Murchan
8. Brian Fenton
9. Brian Howard
22. Paul Mannion
11. Sean Bugler
12. Niall Scully
18. Cormac Costello
14. Con O’Callaghan
15. Colm Basquel

Dublin Substitutes:

7. Jack McCaffrey for Murchan (46)
10. Ciaran Kilkenny for Bugler (48)
13. Paddy Small for Scully (54)
20. Tom Lahiff for Costello (67)
26. Dean Rock for Basquel (71)


1. Colm Reape
2. Jack Coyne
3. David McBrien
4. Pádraig O’Hora
5. Paddy Durcan
6. Stephen Coen
7. Eoghan McLaughlin
8. Matthew Ruane
9. Diarmuid O’Connor
17. Sam Callinan
11. Jack Carney
12. Jordan Flynn
13. Aidan O’Shea
14. Tommy Conroy
15. Ryan O’Donoghue

Mayo Substitutes:

19. Enda Hession for O’Hora (32)
25. Cillian O’Connor for O’Shea (46)
24. Kevin McLoughlin for McLaughlin (53)
18. James Carr for Ruane (59)
23. Donnacha McHugh for Coen (59)
10. Jason Doherty for Callinan (70)