Dublin starting 15 v Tyrone - Allianz League

Comerford, Small, Howard and Kilkenny return to starting 15 for the must win clash with Tyrone


Dublin v Tyrone
Saturday, March 16th. 7:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

Back to GAA HQ tonight for the Dublin Senior Footballers as they play the last of their Spring Series ties against Tyrone, their All Ireland Final opponents of last year. And in the round fixture last year between these two sides, Dublin turned Healy Park in Omagh blue, with a 2-13 to 1-11 win. There’s still some pressure on Dublin having dropped points in two league game so far, but a League Final slot is still very much up for grabs if they clinch wins tonight and next week in Cavan.

For Tyrone, there’s very much an outside chance of qualifying if they can get a win tonight and next week over Galway, hoping that Mayo also drop points. Galway face Roscommon tonight in a local derby and there’s a huge clash in Austin Stack Park as unbeaten Kerry welcome Mayo. Kerry are right now the only team certain of a League Final slot. The remaining space will be hotly contested from the four sides below them in the table. This weekend could very much see some changes in the rankings.

Jim Gavin has made a few changes to the side that started against Roscommon two weeks ago, with Evan Comerford returning to the goal line. John Small returns to action, replacing Jack McCaffrey on the wing, as does Brian Howard with Andrew McGowan moving back to the bench. And Ciaran Kilkenny comes back in to start in place of Colm Basquel with a small reshuffle in the forward line.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Tyrone)

1. Evan Comerford – Ballymun Kickhams
2. Jonny Cooper – Na Fianna
3. David Byrne – Naomh Olaf
4. Cian O’Connor – Kilmacud Crokes
5. Brian Howard – Raheny
6. Cian O’Sullivan – Kilmacud Crokes
7. John Small – Ballymun Kickhams
8. Brian Fenton – Raheny
9. Darren Gavin – Lucan Sarsfields
10. Con O’Callaghan – Cuala
11. Cormac Costello – Whitehall Colmcille
12. Niall Scully – Templeogue Synge Street
13. Dean Rock – Ballymun Kickhams
14. Ciaran Kilkenny – Castleknock
15. Paddy Andrews – St. Brigids