Dublin manager Jim Gavin gives the nod to the same starting 15 that were victorious over Galway last weekend


Dublin v Kerry - Starting 15


Kerry v Dublin
Saturday, February 9th. 7:00pm
Austin Stack Park, Tralee

The Dublin senior footballers put in a massive shift last weekend with a more than convincing win over Galway in Croke. A stark contrast to their opening day defeat to Monaghan in Clones. And Dublin fans got a chance to see some debutants last Saturday night. Sean Bugler, Liam Flatman and Ryan Basquel all impressed over the 70 plus minutes in HQ.

Jim Gavin has put his seal of approval on last week’s performance by naming the same 15 that started proceedings then, including the new boys. Bugler and Flatman were late replacements before throw in.

A much stiffer task faces the boys in blue tonight as they make the trip south west to face an old foe. And with it being their 50th league encounter, this could be all about bragging rights at the final whistle. Dublin have won 21 of the previous 49 encounters, with last year seeing the Dubs put in an astonishing second half performance in Round 5 to blitz Kerry 2-17 to 0-11. It had left their 2017 loss in the League Final as a distant memory. But Kerry as we know are very much a team in transition and a healthy challenge will be expected on their home turf.

Tonight’s panel also includes Cormac Costello who was precision personified last weekend, and will relish the challenge once more to stake his claim on a more permanent spot in the Dublin forward line.

Dublin (Starting XV v Kerry):

1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Liam Flatman (Kilmcud Crokes)
5. Eric Lowndes (St. Peregrines)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy  (Ballymun Kickhams)
10. Sean Bugler (St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Rua)
11. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
15. Ryan Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)