Dublin Start O’Byrne Cup with win over Offaly

O'Byrne Cup - Dublin v Offaly

Dessie Farrell took the reigns again today as Dublin’s Senior Footballers got their O’Byrne Cup campaign underway

O'Byrne Cup - Dublin v Offaly
Dublin 2-12
Offaly 0-13

The Dublin Senior Footballers started off the new year in a winning fashion in the opening round of the O’Byrne Cup. But they were pushed all the way by a gallant Offaly until their challenge faded in the final quarter at O’Connor Park in Tullamore.

Eoin Murchan and Ciaran Kilkenny were the only Dublin survivors from the team that lost to Mayo in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final, and Dessie Farrell’s much-changed side led by just two points at the break despite playing with the wind at their backs. It would come as no surprise to supporters now used to seeing fresh faces on the field at the early parts of the year.

Sean Bugler, who played today at wing back, finished with four points for the Dubs, as did Kilkenny who was prominent throughout in attack.

Tom Lahiff hit a goal within two minutes of restart, but the Faithful men responded well to reel off four points on the spin. Johnny Moloney’s score just after the second-half water break was Offaly’s last score as their challenge faded out, with Warren Egan’s goal in the final minute putting a gloss on the scoreline.

Dublin Scorers:

Ciaran Kilkenny 0-04
Sean Bugler 0-04
Tom Lahiff 1-00
Lee Gannon 0-01
Shane Carthy 0-01
Alex Wright 0-01
Aaron Byrne 0-01 (1f)

Offaly Scorers:

Ruairi McNamee 0-05 (3f)
Aanton Sullivan 0-03
Ciaran Donnelly 0-01
Morgan Tynan 0-01
Johnny Moloney 0-01
Bill Carroll 0-01
Jack Darcy 0-01 (1f)


David O’Hanlon
Lee Gannon
Shane Clayton
Darragh Conlon
Tom Lahiff
Eoin Murchan
Sean Bugler
Peadar O’Cofaigh-Byrne
Shane Carthy
Killian McGinnis
Ciaran Kilkenny
Alex Wright
Lorcan O’Dell
Colm Basquel
Aaron Byrne

Dublin Substitutes:

Niall Scully for McGinnis (45)
Ross McGarry for O’Dell (45)
Cameron McCormack for Carthy (49)|
Warren Egan for Basquel (55)
James Doran for Wright (58)
David Lacey for Byrne (62)
James Holland for Lahiff (65)
Adam Rafter for Bugler (73)


Paddy Dunican
Lee Pearson
James Lalor
Ciaran Donnelly
Rory Egan
Johnny Moloney
Cian Donohoe
Cathal Mangan
Jordan Hayes
Bill Carroll
Diarmuid Egan
Morgan Tynan
Jack Bryant
Anton Sullivan
Ruairi McNamee

Offaly Substitutes:

Aaron Leavy for Tynan (HT)
Ian Duffy for Dunican (HT)
Niall Darby for D Egan 46
Cormac Egan for Bryant 54
Jospeh O’Connor for Carroll 54
Kieran Dolan for Donohoe 56
Dan Molloy for Moloney 61
Jack Darcy for Pearson 61