Dublin will play Westmeath for the nineteenth time in the Championship next year to start their Leinster Campaign

Westmeath will be Dublin's Quarter Final opponents in the 2020 Leinster Competition
Image: RTE Sport

Five In A Row All Ireland Champions Dublin will get their Championship campaign off next year with a Leinster Quarter Final tie against Westmeath. The Dubs will be looking to write another piece of history. They will go in search of their tenth consecutive Leinster title. No team has managed to unseat the boys in blue since recovering the Delaney Cup in 2011.

The draw took place this morning on RTÉ Radio 1’s Morning Ireland show. And Jim Gavin’s side will face the team they met in the 2015 and 2016 provincial deciders. Only this time it will be in their last eight matchup.

Dublin Dominate Westmeath in Championship Action

Dublin have won fifteen of their eighteen football Championship meetings with the Lake County. The last time Westmeath beat the Dubs in the provincial competition was in the 2004 Quarter Final in Croke Park where Westmeath were 0-14 to 0-12 victors.

The Dubs last met Westmeath in the 2017 Leinster Semi Final, and it a game Westmeath may choose to forget. After a relatively straight forward Quarter win over Carlow in O’Moore Park, Dublin took to the Croke Park surface looking as sharp as ever.

Paul Mannion put in an amazing performance, scoring 0-08 from eight shots at the target. But it was the goals that put the shine on this score. There were four in total, from the boots of Dean Rock, Eoghan O’Gara, Ciaran Kilkenny and Kevin McManamon.

The talk before the game was Tony Cribbins side would play a more offensive style and go at the All Ireland Champions, but sadly that never came to pass. IN 2015 Dublin had beaten Westmeath by thirteen points in the provincial final. A year later at the same juncture it was by fifteen.

But the 2017 last four game would see Dublin increase that winning margin to thirty one points finishing the game by 4-19 to 0-10 winners.

Leinster Championship Round 1:

Louth v Longford (The winner will play Laois in a quarter final)
Wexford v Wicklow (The winner is set to play Meath in a quarter final)
Carlow v Offaly (The winner will play Kildare in a quarter final)


Westmeath v Dublin
Kildare v Carlow/Offaly
Meath v Wexford/Wicklow
Laois v Louth/Longford