Dublin 1-19 Monaghan 0-12
Croke Park, Dublin.

Jim Gavin’s Senior Football panel eased past Ulster opponents Monaghan this evening in the All Ireland Quarter Final to set up the mouth watering Semi Final tie against Tyrone on August 27th. Stephen Cluxton celebrated his record breaking 89th Championship appearance pulling off two vital saved ball from the feet of Jack McCarron and Owen Duffy.

This game was done and dusted by half time, but Dean Rock’s 40th minute goal put the game far out of Monaghan’s reach as Dublin sat in and saw the game out in a less than exciting second half.

Inside the first quarter Dublin had accelerated into a 0-06 to 0-01 lead with scores from Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Con O’Callaghan and Jack McCaffrey. James McCarthy joined the quartet  as the one way traffic continued until the half time whistle. Monaghan only managed 0-03 in the first session, with scores coming from Conor McManus, Colin Walshe and Karl O’Connell sending them down tunnel 0-08 adrift of the All Ireland Champions.

Conor McCarthy opened the scoring for Monaghan after the break, but an instant reply from Paddy Andrews saw Monaghan fail to make a dent in the deficit. The Farney man struck again with a beautiful score, but Dean Rock had other ideas.

After Rock pointed a free, Dublin won a dead ball in midfield that Brian Fenton stood over. Rock, O’Callaghan and Andrews made moves toward the Monaghan goal. Colin Walshe made a possession error and Andrews cleaned up and went towards goal, but seeing Rock peel towards to square he unselfishly sent the ball into his path and Rock palmed the ball past Rory Beggan into the goal. Game Over!

From here, Dublin maintained control with the score at 1-13 to 0-05, and despite a spirited performance from Monaghan the damage had been done long before. Scores from Andrews, Rock, substitutes Eoghan O’Gara and Paul Flynn, and Pal Mannion cancelled out the efforts of Rory Beggan, McCarthy, Darren Hughes, McManus and Ryan McAnespie to end the game at 1-19 to 0-11.

So August 27th will see Dublin face Tyrone in Dublin’s eight consecutive All Ireland Semi Final appearance. The men from the Red Hand County easily saw off Armagh in the opening game on a score of 3-17 to 0-08 and will make the Semi Final a competitive spectacle.

Scorers for Dublin:
Dean Rock 1-07 (7f)
Paddy Andrews 0-03
Paul Mannion 0-02
James McCarthy 0-01
Con O’Callaghan 0-01
Jack McCaffrey 0-01
Paul Flynn 0-01
Eoghan O’Gara 0-01

Scorers for Monaghan:
Conor McManus 0-04 (3f)
Conor McCarthy 0-03
Colin Walshe 0-01
Karl O’Connell 0-01
Darren Hughes 0-01
Ryan McAnespie 0-01
Rory Beggan 0-01 (1f)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
5. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
4. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
2. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
12. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
7. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
10. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

17. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh) for Lowndes (41)
21. Paul Flynn (Fingallians) for McCarthy (51)
20. Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens) for Small (51)
25. Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street) for Andrews (53)
23. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Kilkenny (57)
18. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf) for Cooper (60)

1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
5. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)
10. Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)
6. Kieran Duffy (Latton)
2. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)
8. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
9. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)
22. Dessie Ward (Beal Atha Beithe)
12. Shane Carey (Scotstown)
13. Ryan Mc Anespie (Emyvale)
26. Jack McCarron (Curran)
15. Conor Mc Manus (Clontibret)

25. Conor McCarthy (An Bhoth) for Doogan (35)
23. Owen Duffy (Lackan) for Ward (ht)
21. Dessie Mone (Clontibret) for O’Connell (43)
20. Vinny Corey for Ryan Wylie (43)
11. Dermot Malone (Fág An Bealach) for Carey (45)
17. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps) for Darren Hughes (62)
Wylie off with concussion (72)