Jim Gavin makes one change to his starting 15 ahead of tonight opening Super 8s clash with Cork

All Ireland Super 8s - Dublin v Cork

Dublin v Cork
Saturday, July 13th. 7:00pm
Croke Park, Dublin

The All Ireland Senior Football Championship reaches the Quarter Final Super 8s phase tonight as the quest for Sam Maguire begins.

For Jim Gavin, and the Dublin Senior Footballers, history awaits. The drive for five begins, and tonight is the first in a potential five games that could see Dublin rewrite the history books.

Leinster was as plain sailing as expected with the Dubs despatching Louth, Kildare and Meath to take the Delaney Cup home for the ninth consecutive year. And following the All Ireland Qualifiers their journey will see them face Cork, Roscommon, and Tyrone over the three phases in the Super 8 competition.

Cork have reached the last eight for the first time in five years and will face their toughest test this year facing Dublin at Croke Park tonight.

After losing the Munster Senior Football Final against Kerry, Cork hammered Laois 4-20 to 1-15 in Round Four of the Qualifiers to book their spot in Group 2 of the last eight.

Brian Hurley and Mark Collins are in fine form for the rebels, but the question tonight will be how they tackle Dublin’s running game and attack. We’ve seen teams opened up all too may time and all too easily. And on paper, the form of the likes of Cormac Costello, Paul Mannion and Con O’Callaghan, Cork will certainly have their hands full at headquarters tonight.

With James McCarthy Injured, Jim Gavin has recalled Michael Darragh Macauley to the starting 15 to join Brian Fenton in the midfield. Jack McCaffrey will play wing back with Philly McMahon named in the corner back position. Dublin’s front six remains unchanged for tonight’s All Ireland opener.

Dublin Starting 15 (v Cork)

1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnell’s)
2. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
3. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
5. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
12. Brian Howard (Raheny)
13. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
14. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)