Dublin Senior Football Panel Named For Provincial Opener

Paul Mannion - Dublin v Louth
Dublin's Paul Mannion leaves the field after a straight red card was issued in the 26th minute

Strong hand shown by Dessie Farrell as he names his first Dublin panel for the Leinster Campaign

Dublin Senior Football Panel - Leinster Championship

Laois v Dublin
Leinster Senior Football Quarter Final
Sunday April 23rd. 3:30pm
MW Hire O’Moore Park, Portlaoise

It’s the part of the season most Dublin supporters look forward and this Sunday Dessie Farrell’s Senior Football panel will start their Championship journey. And while the league uncovered some very good new talent, most will focus on the small number of veterans who have made a welcome return to the Dublin set up.

Paul Mannion starts his first Championship game since 2020 and the glimpses we saw of him in the National League have been enough to convince everyone he’s prime and ready. Elsewhere on the teamsheet Stephen Cluxton and Jack McCaffrey are named on the bench in a panel that will hopefully be All Ireland contenders in a few month’s time.

Farrell today named his full 26 man panel. There are four changes to the Dublin starting side from the team that started in the Division 2 League Final win over Derry at Croke Park three weeks ago.

Eoin Murchan, Ciarán Kilkenny, Paul Mannion and Ross McGarry all come into the starting 15 with Michael Fitzsimons, Cian Murphy, Killian O’Gara and Dean Rock all making way.

Dublin Senior Football Panel (v Laois)

1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna)
2. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Tom Lahiff (St. Judes)
10. Seán Bugler (St. Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruadh)
11. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Endas)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Ross McGarry (Ballyboden St. Endas)
16 .Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
17. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)
18. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
19. Craig Dias (Kilmacud Crokes)
20. Brian Howard (Raheny)
21. Seán MacMahon (Raheny)
22. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
23. Lorcan O’Dell (Templeogue Synge Street)
24. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)
25. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
26. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)