Senior 1 Football Championship


Dates, times and venues announced for Round 1 of the Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship


The year is flying past us. The National Football and Hurling Inter County Leagues are nearly over already. Both Dublin’s Senior Footballers and Hurlers are performing well. The Hurlers await their Quarter Final opponents following this weekends games. And the Senior Footballers are in a great position after a false start with only two round games to go.

But as the National Leagues draw to a close, it’s a quick turn around and straight back into Club Championship action. And this week the Round 1 fixtures for this year’s Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship have been confirmed.

All Round 1 games will be played between Wednesday, April 10th and Saturday, April 13th. And this year the Parnell Park double header between Kilmacud Crokes and Ballymun Kickhams, and St. Sylvesters and Na Fianna will be broadcast live on TG4.

So let’s get into the details..


Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship

Group 1

Kilmacud Crokes v Ballymun Kickhams
Saturday, April 13th. 7:00pm – Parnell Park

St. Sylvesters v Na Fianna
Saturday, April 13th. 5:15pm – Parnell Park


Dublin Champions Kilmacud Crokes will start their Group competition with a tasty fixture against Ballymun Kickhams. For Ballymun, they’ll be looking for an improved campaign in 2019 after leaving the competition last on defeat in the Quarter Finals against eventual finalists St. Judes.

Na Fianna and St. Sylvesters also both reached the last eight in last year’s championship, but lost to Kilmacud and Ballyboden St. Endas respectively. This is certainly a group to watch. And the format will see the two winners and two losers of Round 1 face each other in Round 2.

As mentioned, Kilmacud Crokes 2018 win was their eight county championship, Ballymun Kickhams last one the title in 2012, which was their third. Sylvesters only title win was back in 1996 and five time Champions Na Fianna last reached the county final in 2005, but were beaten by reigning champions Kilmacud.


Group 2

Ballyboden St. Endas v Clontarf
Saturday, April 13th. 3:15pm – O’Toole Park

Lucan Sarsfields v Skerries Harps
Friday, April 12th. 7:30pm – Garristown

Ballyboden St. Endas are the only team in Group 2 to reach last year’s knockout stages, and they were eventually beaten by Crokes in the Semi Final. And they’ll start their 2019 Championship with an opening round game against Clontarf, who finished last year without a win.

Lucan Sarsfields and Skerries have been drawn in the same group again this year and will both look to fair better than their last campaigns. Both losing their opening games, they faced each other in Round 2 and played out 1-12 score draw. That was the best result for Lucan as they fell to St. Vincents in the final round, with Skerries again drawing with Na Fianna to finish just above Lucan.


Group 3

St. Judes v St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh
Wednesday, April 10th. 7:30pm – Parnell Park

Thomas Davis v Raheny
Saturday, April 13th. 4:45pm – O’Toole Park

Last years beaten finalists St. Judes set off again in search of their first county championship. It’s ten years since they reached their first final, when they were beaten by Ballyboden. They get up and running with their first game against St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh. Plunketts got an opening day draw against Raheny last year and that was their best result so will be hoping to improve.

Thomas Davis and Raheny will face off in the other Round 1 game in Group 3. Thomas Davis, crowned Senior 2 Champions last year will be hoping to get off to a good start. Raheny finished third in Group 1 just above Plunketts.


Group 4

St. Vincents v St. Brigids
Friday, April 12th. 7:30pm – Lawless Park

Castleknock v Ballinteer St. Johns
Wednesday, April 10th. 7:30pm – Monastery Road

Quarter Final opponents last year St. Vincents and Castleknock have avoided each other in Round 1. Vincents got the upper hand then, and they’ll start their their new campaign off against St. Brigids. The Marino side won a fourth consecutive title in 2017 but were well beaten in last year’s Semi Final by St. Judes. They’ll be gunning to reach another final.

St. Brigids have won the championship twice, but the last time they reached a championship final was 2010. And they’ll be looking to reach the knockout stages this year.

Castleknock will face Ballinteer St. John’s who finished third in Group 3 last year. The West Dublin side were 2016 finalists, losing to St. Vincents, and lost to Vincents in last year’s Quarter Finals.