Dublin Power Through Louth To Secure 13th Consecutive Leinster Crown

Dublin and Meath - The Rivalry Evolves

A five goal haul saw Dublin remain as kingpins in Leinster beating Louth this afternoon at GAA Headquarters

Dublin and Meath - The Rivalry Evolves

Dublin 5-21 Louth 0-15
Leinster Senior Football Championship Final
Croke Park, Dublin

Dublin easily and comfortably landed a 62nd Leinster Senior Football crown earlier today, making it their 13th provincial win on the bounce. Their 5-21 to 0-15 victory over Louth put’s them in as top seeds in their All Ireland groupd with Roscommon, Kildare and Sligo.

A first half Paul Mannion goal followed by another four green flags in the second half by Sean Bugler, James McCarthy, Paddy Small and Colm Basquel so Dublin dominate proceedings over the wee county.

Despite a ponderous start Dublin eventually found their groove, but there were signs again of errors which they can’t afford in the All Ireland Series. Sammy Mulroy got Louth off the mark opening the scoring. Cormac Costello got Dublin up and running in the 10th minute. The Louth captain hit another 2 scores either side of a Sean Bugler score to give Louth a slender advantage. But they wouldn’t score again for another 22 minutes as Dublin got their game management in order.

The Dubs reeled off 1-10, squeezing up on James Califf’s kickouts. Costello, Bugler and O’Callaghan sent scores over before Paul Mannion hit the back of the Louth net making the score 1-07 to 0-03. Jack McCaffrey tagged on scores to add his name to the roll of honours. Mulroy eventually stopped Dublin scoring run with a much needed ’45 toward the end of the half with Louth finishing stronger on a 1-12 to 0-06 scoreline.

They started the second half in the same fashion but were stopped in their tracks when James McCarthy hit the net in the 45th. And from there Dublin could smell blood and capitalised. Louth looked tired and Mulroy must certainly be applauded trying to keep them ticking over. He even had the ball in the back of the Dublin net but referee Conor Lane had blown his whistle, calling the ball back for a free.

Paddy Small was given credit for the next Dublin goal, jumping into the air along with Dean Rock and Lee Gannon who’s initial shot ricocheted off the crossbar. And substitute Colm Basquel added Dublin’s 5th in the 73rd with a great individual effort. Sean McMahon kicked the last score of the game seeing Dublin win their 39th consecutive fixture in Leinster.

Scorers for Dublin:

Sean Bugler 1-03
Cormac Costello 0-05 (3f, 1 ’45)
Con O’Callaghan 0-04 (2m)
Paul Mannion 1-01 (1f)
James McCarthy 1-00
Paddy Small 1-00
Colm Basquel 1-00
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-03
Jack McCaffrey 0-02
John Small 0-01
Dean Rock 0-01
Sean McMahon 0-01

Scorers for Louth:

Sam Mulroy 0-10 (7f, 1 ’45)
Conor Grimes 0-02
Craig Lennon 0-01
Liam Jackson 0-01
Ciaran Downey 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
2. Daire Newcombe (Lucan Sarsfields)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
18. Brian Howard (Raheny)
5. Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
20. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
25. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Seán Bugler (St Oliver Plunketts ER)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
13. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)

Dublin Substitutes:

4. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis) for Jack McCaffrey (30)
6. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams) for 25 (52)
24. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) for Cormac Costello (52)
10. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s for Paul Mannion (59)
19. Sean McMahon (Raheny) for Brian Howard (63)


1. James Califf (Dreadnots)
2. Dan Corcoran (Geraldines)
3. Peter Lynch (Roche Emmetts)
4. Donal McKenny (St Mary’s, Ardee)
5. Leonard Grey (St Patrick’s)
6. Niall Sharkey (Glyde Rangers)
7. Ciarán Murphy (St Patrick’s)
8. Tommy Durnin (Inniskeen Grattans)
9. Conor Early (Na Fianna, Dublin)
10. Conall McKeever (Clan na Gael)
11. Sam Mulroy (Naomh Mairtín)
12. Conor Grimes (Glen Emmets)
13. Daire McConnon (St Mary’s, Ardee)
14. Ciarán Downey (Newtown Blues)
15. Liam Jackson (St Mary’s Ardee)

Louth Substitutes:

21. Craig Lennon (St Mochta’s) for Daire McConnon (25)
26. Anthony Williams (Dreadnots) for Ciarán Murphy (30)
22. Connall McCaul (St Joseph’s)for Liam Jackson (40)
25. Paul Matthews (St Fechin’s) for Conor Early (55)
17. Ryan Burns (Glyde Rangers) for Dan Corcoran (67)