The Leinster Minor Football Championship gets underway for Dublin tomorrow with a classic against Meath in Parnell Park

Leinster Minor Football Championship


The Dublin minor footballers get up and running in their Leinster Championship campaign against Meath in Parnell Park tomorrow night at 7:30pm.

In this year’s competition, the Dubs are in Group 2 with Offaly and Wexford as well as their Royal rivals,  with the top two teams progressing to the knockout stages. Group 1 is made up of Carlow, Laois, Longford and Westmeath with Kilkenny, Kildare, Wicklow and Louth making up Group in 3.

In last year’s competition, the minors narrowly missed qualification to the knockout stages despite hammering Westmeath 5-19 to 0-9 in their last group game. Wicklow’s victory over Meath, who had already booked their progression, ensured the Garden County made it through instead of the Dubs.

Dublin defeated Louth 3-15 to 1-7 in their opening group game, registering 3-6 without reply in the last quarter. They then lost to Meath 1-13 to 2-8 in Navan. Luke Swan netted both of Dublin’s goals that day. Unfortunately Wicklow beat Dublin 2-06 to 0-08 in Parnell Park in the next game. And it was a loss that was ultimately to cost Dublin, before Jason Sherlock’s side comprehensively defeated Westmeath in their last game.

Dublin had another opportunity of some silverware, entering the Leinster Minor Football Shield. They were victorious over Wexford on a 3-20 to 0-10 scoreline. But their run ended there as they lost to Longford in the final by 1-13 to 0-11

2019 Leinster Minor Football Championship

Group 1:

Carlow, Laois, Longford, Westmeath

Group 2:

Offaly, Wexford, Meath, Dublin

Group 3:

Kilkenny, Kildare, Wicklow, Louth

Dublin’s Group 2 Fixtures:

Tuesday, April 23rd – Dublin v Meath – Parnell Park – 7:30pm
Wednesday, May 8th – Wexford v Dublin – Bellefield, Enniscorthy – 7:00pm
Wednesday, May 15th – Offaly v Dublin – Bord Na Mona O’Connor Park – 7:00pm