Dublin Overcome Spirited Wexford to Advance In Leinster Championship


Today’s win for Dublin over Wexford sets up a Leinster Semi Final meeting against old rivals Meath in two week’s time

Brian Howard - Leinster Championship

Dublin 0-15
Wexford 0-07
Chadwicks Wexford Park

It might not have been pretty, but Dublin got their 2021 Leinster Football Championship defence off to a winning start this afternoon against Wexford. And their 0-15 to 0-07 victory sees them through to a last four clash with Meath on July 18th.

While most of the media will continue to zone in on the absence of goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton, it must be said that Wexford deserve credit for a spirited performance as rank outsiders in this clash.

But a composed, albeit sluggish Dublin panel eventually came through unscathed in this afternoons away trip picking up the 31st win on the trot in Leinster. And the 11th consecutive title is still in the balance.

Wexford took the lead twice inside the first 10 minutes of play. Despite conceding an early score from Brian Fenton, the home side showed real intent. Two scores from Mark Rossiter gave them an early 0-02 to 0-01 lead. Then John Turbitt responded to a Cormac Costello free to lift the home crowd. Sadly thought Wexford would not find a score for another 40 minutes of play, but they certainly didn’t stop trying.

Dublin however began to put some daylight in the scoreline. After the first water break Ciaran Kilkenny, Costello (2) and Brian Howard sent Dublin down the tunnel at half time leading by 0-06 to 0-03.

Dubs outscore to advance to last four

The Dubs went up the gears slightly after the restart. Wexford can thank defender Michael Furlong for intervening and stopping a potential Con O’Callaghan goal. Brian Howard registered his second score with Costello adding a couple of frees.

Paraic Hughes finally ended Wexford’s long scoreless spell on 49 minutes. Rossiter and Donal Shanley added some consolation for the home side. But Dublin substitutes Tom Lahiff, Colm Basquel and a returning Dean Rock fleshed out the scoreline to ensure their passage to the Leinster Semi Finals.

Scorers for Dublin:

Cormac Costello 0-07 (5f)
Brian Fenton 0-02
Brian Howard 0-02
Ciarán Kilkenny 0-01
Tom Lahiff 0-01
Colm Basquel 0-01
Dean Rock 0-01

Scorers for Wexford:

Mark Rossiter 0-03 (2f)
Donal Shanley 0-02 (1f)
John Tubritt 0-01
Páraic Hughes 0-01


1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Seán McMahon (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Brian Howard (Raheny)
7. Robert McDaid (Ballyboden-St. Enda’s)
8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
24. Peadar Ó Cofaigh-Byrne (Cuala)
10. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
17. Ryan Basquel (Ballyboden-St. Enda’s)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)

Dublin Substitutes:

5. Tom Lahiff (St. Jude’s) for McDaid (34)
18. Seán Bugler (St. Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh) for Basquel
13. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St. Enda’s) for Scully (53)
19. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna) for Small (56)
26. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) for Byrne (66)


1. Darragh Brooks (Castletown)
2. Liam O’Connor (St. Mary’s-Rosslare)
3. Gavin Sheehan (Gusserane)
4. Eoin Porter (Rathgarogue-Cushinstown)
7. Michael Furlong (Adamstown)
6 .Martin O’Connor (HWH-Bunclody)
5. Brian Malone (Shelmaliers)
8. Daithí Waters (St. Martin’s)
9. Liam Coleman (Castletown)
10. Páraic Hughes (Kilanerin)
11. Tom Byrne (Kilmore)
12. Kevin O’Grady (St. James’)
14. John Tubritt (Fethard)
20. Niall Hughes (Kilanerin)
13. Mark Rossiter (Gusserane)

Wexford Substitutes:

15. Seán Nolan (Horeswood) for Tubritt (42)
24. Alan Tobin (Starlights) for Waters (58)
23. Robbie Brooks (Castletown) for Hughes (63)
22. Donal Shanley (St. Fintan’s) for Rossiter (63)
17. Conor Carty (Castletown) for O’Grady (66)