Dublin Minors Fail In Their Bid For A Leinster Football Shield In Pearse Park


Dublin Minors - Dublin v Longford

Jason Sherlock’s Dublin Minors ended their year with a loss to Longford in the Leinster Shield competition.


Longford 1-13
Dublin 0-11

A seventh minute goal by Longford’s Keelin McGann was the tonic to get royal blue and goal off to the perfect start as they put Dublin to the sword in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park yesterday afternoon, capturing the Leinster Minor Football Shield. Both sides narrowly failed in their bid for the championship draw and Dublin were expected to capture the shield yesterday but Longford had other ideas.

The home side finished the first half one point the better on 1-05 to 0-07, putting in a solid defensive performance against Dublin, thanks for the most part to Cian Dooner and McGann.

Sean Guiden and Mark Lavin kept the score board ticking over for Dublin, but Longford’s defence halted any chance they had for a goal to edge closer to their opponents for the entire 60 plus minutes.

Dooner was on song for the Midlanders scoring 0-08 on the day, and with Longford restricting the Dubs to four second half points, they were certainly worth the win.

Longford Scorers:

Cian Dooner 0-08 (2f)
Keelin McGann 1-01
Eoghan McCormack 0-01
Reece Reilly 0-01 (1f)
Darragh O’Connell  0-01
Reece Leonard 0-01 (1f)

Dublin Scorers:

Sean Guiden 0-05 (2f)
Mark Lavin 0-04 (2f)
Ciaran McManus 0-01
Liam McGovern 0-01


Patrick Murray
Darren Moffett
Dario Ciglianio
Adam Quinn
Cian Belton
James Moran
Peter Dempsey
Jonathan Borland
Richard Prior
Euan Finneran
Eoghan McCormack
Keelin McGann
Reece Reilly
Darragh O’Connell
Cian Dooner


Cian O’Nuallain for Quinn (37)
Reece Leonard for Reilly (42)
Conor Leonard for Borland (60)
James Kiernan for McGann (62).


Simon Murphy
Noel Hatton
Adam Fearon
Adam Rafter
Ciaran McManus
Enda Cashman
Mark Lavin
Eoin Adamson
Rory Dwyer
Liam McGovern
Matthew Dunne
Alex Watson
Sean Guiden
Conor Hennessy
Tomas O’Neill


Conor O’Brien for Fearon (21)
Robbie Bolger for O’Neill (H/T)
Matt Grogan for Dunne (37)
Euan Farquharson for Watson (42)
Josh Bannon for Hatton (43)
Conor Chawke for McGovern (52)