Dublin Minor Footballers Begin Leinster Campaign

Jason Sherlock’s Dublin Minor footballers get ready to take on the wee county.

The Dublin Minor footballers commence their Leinster Championship this coming Bank Holiday Monday against Louth in Parnell Park.

This year there’s a new feel to the provincial competition. The structure from under 18 to under 17 and the tournament will be run as a round robin layout.

The Dubs, managed by current Dublin senior selector Jason Sherlock, are drawn in Group 1 with Meath, Westmeath, Offaly and Wicklow as well as Monday’s opponents, Louth.

Dublin will host Louth and Wicklow while they must face Meath, Offaly and Westmeath on the road.

Group 2 involves Wexford, Kildare, Carlow, Laois and Longford

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will take place on July 7th, with the final provisionally scheduled for July 14th or 18th.

Dublin will be captained this year by Ballyboden St Enda’s Enda Cashman.

Dublin’s Leinster MFC Schedule:

Round 1: Dublin v Louth (Monday, May 7th) Round 2: Meath v Dublin (Wednesday, May 23rd)

Round 3: Offaly v Dublin (Wednesday, May 30th)

Round 4: Dublin v Wicklow (Wednesday, June 27th)

Round 5: Westmeath v Dublin (Tuesday, July 3rd).

Group Relegations:

If two counties tie for qualifying positions – the outcome of the game between them decides otherwise score difference.

• If three or more teams tie for qualifying positions – score difference will decide.

• Home & away arrangements as heretofore apply to semi-finals only.

• All group games at home venue.

• Minor Final and Shield Final double-header at neutral venue.