A strong second half performance gave the Dublin Minor Footballers the edge to see off Westmeath in Mullingar

Dublin Minor Footballers - Leinster Semi Final

Dublin 0-18
Westmeath 1-11
TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar

After a good test of mettle, Jim Lehane’s Dublin Minor Footballers have qualified for this year’s Leinster Final. They will face Kildare who beat Laois in the competition’s other Semi Final.

By the 36th minute of the game Dublin were trailing Westmeath by 0-05 thanks to a Ben McGauren goal. But that sparked the Dubs into gear as they finished the more complete side to secure the win.

Devin Hill, Fionn O’Hara and McGauren had Westmeath 0-03 to the good inside four minutes of the throw in. And it took until the eleventh before Alex Rogers opened Dublin’s account. From there they reeled off another five scores without reply from Robbie Bolger, Fionn Murray and three from Rogers to give them a 0-06 to 0-03 lead by the eighteenth.

Westmeath upped the ante, scoring six points in succession. O’Hara, Shane Reid, Luke Buckley, and Dan Leech all finding the target. Conor Archer got one more score for Dublin to send them in at the break trailing by 0-09 to 0-07.

Dublin keep their nerve and finish strong

Three minutes into the second half substitute Ross Keogh brought Dublin within one score, but by the sixth Westmeath had rocked Dublin with a point from Dan Leech and Ben McGauren’s goal to lead 1-10 to 0-08.

Dublin’s reply was more than impressive as they went on to string nine points together to swing the game 0-17 to 1-10 in their favour as the game hit additional time.

Keogh scored his second point, with Fionn Murray, Luke Murphy-Guinane and Senan Forker all ticking crucial scores.

Westmeath goalscorer McGauren broke Dublin’s scoring chain. But Alex Rogers, who opened Dublin’s scoresheet today, closed it with the final score of the game.

The Leinster Minor Football Final between Dublin and Kildare will take place in two weeks time, with date, time and venue to be confirmed.