Dublin Make Light Work Of Sligo In Final Round Clash

Dublin v Sligo - All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Dessie Farrell’s Dublin hold Sligo to single digits while racking a much needed 3-23 at Kingspan Breffni Park

Dublin v Sligo - All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Dublin 3-23 Sligo 0-08
All Ireland Senior Football Championship. Round 3
Kingspan Breffni Park

Dublin’s Senior Football panel book their place in this year’s All Ireland Quarter Finals today with an emphatic performance against Sligo, a much needed display in what has been an inconsistent campaign.

Con O’Callaghan and Colm Basquel hit 1-05 and 1-03 respectively this afternoon on the road with defender Eoin Murchan rocking forrward to secure Dublin’s third green flag.

Farrell’s panel got going following a quiet 20 minute spell, picking off scores at their ease leaving Slig struggling to gain any kind of momentum. And so ends Sligo’s involvement in this year’s competition with Roscommon losing out to Kildare in today#s other Group 3 encounter.

Dublin were clear leaders by half time after registering 1-13 to Sligo’s 0-04. Despite the scoreline the opening exchanges were highly competitive. Sligo had their noses in front on 18 minutes with the score at 0-03 to 0-02 after Darragh Cummins, Niall Murphy and Sean Carrabine all hit the target. Pat Spillane pulled a shit wide in the 24th that could have given his side further advantage. But Dublin had already raised a green flag with O’Callaghan starting the onslaught.

The Cuala man hit 1-04 in the first half, and Dublin punished Sligo’s poor kickouts to register 1-11 to 0-01 from the 19th minute to half time.

Basquel put the tie to bed early on the restart. His 40th minute goal was followed by playing a dummy setting Murchan up for his palmed attempt into the net. And it gave Farrell the breathing space to rest some legs and give others some important game time before they get down to business again. And the return of Jack McCaffrey drew a huge bumo from the traveling support.

Scorers for Dublin:

Con O’Callaghan 1-05
Colm Basquel 1-03 (1f)
Paddy Small 0-05 (3f)
Eoin Murchan 1-00
Lee Gannon 0-03
Sean Bugler 0-02
Paul Mannion 0-02
John Small 0-01
Brian Howard 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01

Scorers for Sligo:

Sean Carrabine 0-04 (2f, 1 ’45)
Niall Murphy 0-02
Darragh Cummins 0-01
Patrick O’Connor 0-01


Stephen Cluxton
Daire Newcombe
Michael Fitzsimons
Eoin Murchan
Brian Howard
John Small
Lee Gannon
Brian Fenton
James McCarthy
Niall Scully
Sean Bugler
Colm Basquel
Paddy Small
Con O’Callaghan
Ciaran Kilkenny

Dublin Substitutes:

Tom Lahiff for McCarthy (46)
Cian Murphy for J Small (50)
Paul Mannion for Scully (50)
Lorcan O’Dell for O’Callaghan (53)
Jack McCaffrey for Murchan (59)


Aidan Devaney
Luke Nicholson
Brian Cox
Evan Lyons
Luke Towey
Jack Lavin
Darragh Cummins
Cian Lally
Paul Kilcoyne
Paul McNamara
Finnian Cawley
Alan Reilly
Niall Murphy
Sean Carrabine
Pat Spillane

Sligo Substitutes:

Mikey Gordon for Towey (29)
Gerard O’Kelly Lynch for Lally (50)
Mark Walsh for Cummins (51)
Patrick O’Connor for Reilly (52)
Keelan Cawley for Lavin (61)