Dublin Hold Off Fighting Kildare to Secure First League Win


It was never going to be one for the ages but Dublin held on to register a one score win over Kildare tonight

Brian Fenton

Dublin 1-11
Kildare 0-13
Croke Park, Dublin

Not necessarily the start Dublin senior football boss Dessie Farrell might have wanted but nonetheless Dublin secured their first win in the 2023 Allianz Football League Division 2 campaign. A first half goal from midfield general Brian Fenton proved vital as Kildare pushed Dublin all the way in the greasy conditions at Croke Park.

The Dubs had the upper hand for the majority of tonight’s game and with 20 minutes remainig on the clock they had a solid 5 point advantage over visiting Kildare. But the Lilies resiliance saw them outscore their opponents by 6 points to 2 in the remains of the half to leave a solitary score between the sides at the full time whistle. It’s a tick in the win column for the Dubs and in some ways revenge following a defeat to Kildare in Newbridge a year ago.

Cormac Costello finished the night as Dublin’s top scorer with 0-04 as his tally, while Con O’Callaghan returned to first team action with two points. But Fenton’s first half goal will go down as the defining moment of the game.

O’Callaghan’s two scores came at the beginning of the second half, washing away a frustrating first half where the Cuala man should have netted twice. Kildare desperately needed a goal. Their best chance came from substitute Tony Archibold who’s chance created an opportunity for Dublin keeper David O’Hanlon to test his nerve which he did pulling off a great stop.

Kildare did raise their game in the closing stages with scores from Jimmy Hyland, Jack Robinson, Darragh Kirwan and Neil Flynn but the clock ran out stopping even levelling the game.

Dublin Scorers:

Cormac Costello 0-04 (3f)
Brian Fenton 1-00
Con O’Callaghan 0-02
Dean Rock 0-01 (1f)
John Small 0-01
Niall Scully 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Ross McGarry 0-01

Kildare Scorers:

Neil Flynn 0-04 (1f, 2 ’45)
Jack Robinson 0-03
Jimmy Hyland 0-3 (1f)
Darragh Kirwan 0-3 (1f)


1. David O’Hanlon
4. Michael Fitzsimons
26. Sean MacMahon
7. Cian Murphy
19. Greg McEneaney
2. Eoin Murchan
5. Lee Gannon
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
6. John Small
14. Ciaran Kilkenny
10. Niall Scully
13. Cormac Costello
20. Ross McGarry
15. Con O’Callaghan

Dublin Substitutes:

3. David Byrne for Murchan (HT)
17. Colm Basquel for McGarry (47)
12. Dean Rock for McEneaney (55)
25. Killian O’Gara for Costello (68)
24. Peadar O’Cofaigh Byrne for Lahiff (72)


1. Mark Donnellan
2. Mick O’Grady
3. Shea Ryan
4. Ryan Houlihan
5. Darragh Malone
6. David Hyland
17. Paddy McDermott
8. Aaron Masterson
9. Kevin O’Callaghan
10. Neil Flynn
11. Kevin Flynn
12. Paul Cribbin
26. Jack Robinson
14. Darragh Kirwan
13. Jimmy Hyland

Kildare Substitutes:

15. Paddy Woodgate for J. Hyland (Blood Sub 31 to HT)
21. Alex Beirne for Cribbin (47)
7. Tony Archbold for Malone (47)
24. Ben McCormack for J. Hyland (59)
18. Kevin Feely for Masterson (60)
20. Jack Sargent for Houlihan (72)