Jim Gavin’s Senior Footballers Start Their Championship Journey This Weekend.

Dublin Senior Football - Leinster Championship

It really doesn’t feel like it’s been almost two months since Dublin reclaimed the Allianz League title, beating Galway on April 1st, but this Sunday the boys in blue will start their Championship journey hopefully ending once again with Sam Maguire in their grasp.

But before anyone jumps the gun, and before the new Super 8 competition gets underway, Dublin must once again traverse the provincial landscape in the hope of keeping the Delaney Cup in the capital for the eight consecutive year.

Since 2011 no team in the province has been able to release the Dubs stranglehold on their much beloved title let alone loosen their grip.

This Sunday, the Quarter Finals take place and all eyes will be on O’Moore Park in Portlaoise and the Champions face Wicklow at the first jump.


On May 13th Wicklow pushed Offaly to the limit, down by 0-03 at half time, leveling the game at full time to give them the lifeline they needed, scoring 1-06 to Offaly’s 0-04 in the extra sessions to set up this Sunday’s massive clash.

The two teams meet in Championship action for the first time since 1990, where Dublin saw the Wicklow men off by 0-08 in the Semi Final in Newbridge.

The following year they would make up one of the Allianz League Quarter Final pairings, and on that day the Dubs won 2-10 to 0-11 in Croke Park.

The men from the Garden County have not beaten Dublin in 30 meetings, 18 League and 12 Championship encounters. Add to this Dublin’s dominance since Jim Gavin took the reigns, only losing one championship fixture, this Sunday’s game has already been touted as a mismatch. But it’s Championship and nothing is ever a given.

Dublin have not lost a Leinster Quarter Final since their defeat to Westmeath in 2004. Interestingly the last team to beat the Dubs in Leinster were Meath in the 2010 Semi Final, and as the draw falls, these two sides could rekindle and old rivalry again this year should both be successful this weekend as Meath face Longford in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in their Quarter Final.

But let’s enjoy Sunday before we talk anymore of rivalries and championship runs.


1990: Dublin 2-14 Wicklow 0-12
(Leinster semi-final)

1989: Dublin 1-12 Wicklow 1-6
(Leinster semi-final)

1987: Dublin 2-18 Wicklow 0-6
(Leinster semi-final)

1981: Dublin 0-10 Wicklow 0-8
(Leinster quarter-final)

1979: Dublin 3-13 Wicklow 2-7
(Leinster semi-final)