Dublin 2-14
Offaly 0-08

Dublin’s U21 footballers made it four Leinster titles in a row for the first time in their history this evening as they had too much for Offaly in O’Moore Park.

Two second half goals cemented the win the first coming from Tom Fox a few minutes into the second half and Stephen Smith grabbed the other one just before the end to seal the new record.

Dublin started brightly and were 0-07 to 0-03 in front inside the opening 17 minutes with points from Tom Fox (2), Glenn O’Reilly, Chris Sallier, Aaran Byrne (3).

Offaly had a ten minute spell of possession thereafter but failed to capitalise and Dublin finished the half strongly with points from Man Of The Match Aaron Byrne, Eoin Murchan and a Con O’Callaghan free and Dessie Farrell’s men lead 0-10 to 0-05 at the break.

O’Callaghan got the ball rolling again a minute into the second half as he pointed a 21m free. Three minutes later and Dublin forged further ahead when Tom Fox found the back of the net after been played in by O’Callaghan. Glenn O’Reilly added another point to leave the score 1-12 to 0-05.

With such a decent lead Dublin were somewhat guilty of tacking their foot off the gas and went scoreless from the 38th to the 54th minute. Offaly fought back during this period to hit three points on the bounce all from frees scored by Shane Tierney with one and the other two from the boot of Jordan Hayes.

But they really needed a goal to get back into the contest and it never arrived. Dublin cruised home hitting 1-02 in the closing stages, Con O’Callaghan hit two great points and Stephen Smith burst through for a goal to put the icing on the cake with a left footed finish.

Dublin will now face Ulster opposition in the All Ireland semi-final on the 15th of April.

Dublin Scorers:

Tom Fox 1-02
Aaron Byrne 0-04 (0-1, 45)
Con O’Callaghan 0-04 (0-2f)
Stephen Smith 1-00
Glenn O’Reilly 0-02
Chris Sallier 0-01
Eoin Murchan 0-01

Offaly Scorers:

Shane Tierney 0-04 (0-1f)
Jordan Hayes 0-03 (0-2f)
Patrick Dunican 0-01

Dublin Team:

Evan Comerford
Declan Monaghan
Sean McMahon
Darren Byrne
Eoin Murchan
Cillian O’Shea
Cian Murphy
Andy Foley
Brian Howard
Tom Fox
Dan O’Brien
Aaron Byrne
Chris Sallier
Con O’Callaghan
Glenn O’Reilly

Dublin Substitutes:

Stephen Smith for Sallier (41 mins)
Seán Bugler for O’Brien (42 mins)
Darren Gavin for Fox (48 mins)
Aaron Elliott for O’Reilly (51 mins)
Andrew McGowan for Monaghan (57 mins).

Offaly Team:

Barry Rohan
Clint Horan
David Dempsey
Colm Doyle
Adam Mahon
PJ Daly
Jack Egan
James Lalor
Jordan Hayes
Ciarán Farrell
Ruairi McNamee
J Walsh
Ronan McEvoy
Paddy Dunican
Shane Tierney

Offaly Substitutes :

Kyle Higgins for Mahon (41 mins)
Jake Clancy for Dunican (49 mins)
Carl Stewart for Egan (62 mins).

Referee: David Hickey (Carlow).

Image Credit: Leinster GAA via Facebook