Dublin Consigned to Third Loss as Mayo Remain Unbeaten

Dublin v Mayo - Allianz NFL

A third straight defeat for Dessie Farrell’s Dublin Footballers tonight leaving a mountain to climb in the National Leageue

Dublin v Mayo - Allianz NFL

Dublin 0-12
Mayo 2-11
Allianz National Football League. Croke Park

For the first time in a decade, Mayo left Croke Park claiming a league win over Dublin. And for Dublin supporters, it was another lifeless second half performance as Dessie Farrell rebuilds. The evidence of a huge cheer for the returning Jonny Cooper being the highlight of the evening for fans really tells a upsetting tale.

Leading by three points at half time, Mayo really never looked troubled by a Dublin side who only managed two points from play in the second half, leaving them bottom of the Division 1 football league table.

Not helped by the weather conditions, there didn’t seem to be the usual gear changes from Dublin again. Brian Howard was charged with bolstering a struggling defence, very apparent with Jack Carney standing confortably in acres of space for Mayo’s first goal. Granted Evan Comerford pushed the initial shot against the upright, but the ball hit him on the rebound and into the net.

Things looked promising for Dublin in the opening exchanges. After conceding the first 2 points to Mayo, Dublin hit four scores unanswered giving the faithful fans something to cheer.

The home side were a point the better in the 21st minute before Carney’s goal chance rebounded to the net. Mayo went three clear before Dublin strung three points together to level on 31 minutes. But a Ryan O’Donoghue ball into the area saw Aidan Orme palm the ball past defending Michael Fitzsimons and into the net.

Rob Hennelly finished the half with a long range free. And all they needed to do for the second sesion was contain a struggling Dublin, which they did to see them only register 2 points to Mayo’s 0-05.

Dublin Scorers:

Dean Rock 0-04 (4f)
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-03 (1mark)
Ross McGarry 0-02
Sean Bugler 0-01
John Small 0-01
Lorcan Dell 0-01


Aiden Orme 1-01
Jack Carney 1-00
Diarmuid O’Connor 0-02
Rob Hennelly 0-02 (1f, 1 ’45)
Michael Plunkett 0-02
Matthew Ruane 0-02
Oisin Mullin 0-01
Bryan Walsh 0-01


1. Evan Comerford
2. Lee Gannon
3. David Byrne
18. Michael Fitzsimmons
5. Seán Bugler
6. John Small
7. Seán McMahon
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
10. Niall Scully
11. Ciarán Kilkenny
12. Brian Howard
21. Ross McGarry
14. Ryan Basquel
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

13. Locran O’Dell for McGarry (39)
17. Johnny Cooper for Basquel (50)
26. Alex Wright for Howard (64)
25. Emmet Ó’Conghalie for Gannon (64)
19. Harry Ladd for Scully (72)


1. Rob Hennelly
2. Lee Keegan
3. Rory Brickenden
4. Michael Plunkett
5. Oisin Mullin
6. Stephen Coen
7. Donncha McHugh
8. Matthew Ruane
9. Jordan Flynn
10. Bryan Walsh
11. Diarmuid O’Connor
12. Jack Carney
13. Paul Towey
14. Ryan O’Donoghue
15. Aiden Orme

Mayo Substitutes:

25. Kevin McLoughlin for Carney (49)
24. Conor Loftus for Towey (49)
20. Enda Hession for Mullin (54)
21. Aidan O’Shea (61)
23. Fergal Boland for O’Donoghue (65)
19. Eoghan McLaughin for Plunkett (74)