Dublin Claw Back Six Point Clare Lead To Stay On Track


Another close call in Division 2 for Dublin as late Costello point produces another late win against Clare

Dublin and Meath - The Rivalry Evolves

Dublin 0-16
Clare 1-12
Allianz National Football League Division 2
Croke Park, Dublin

For the third time in this year’s National Football League Division 2 campaign Dublin pulled it out of the bag to secure their fourth victory. And they had to dig deep on a night where they were frustrated by a spirited Clare side who wouldn’t lie down.

Dublin were trailing by 1-08 to 0-08 after a Gavin Cooney goal for Clare on the stroke half time. And things got worse on the restart when the Bannermen increased the lead out to six points. By the 58th minute the visitors were 1-12 to 0-09 ahead and things looked bad for Dublin. But Clare failed to score for the remainder of the game as Dublin finally pressed.

The fightback was lead by substitute Jack McCaffrey making only his second appearance in the league. His menacing runs won him a free which Dean Rock converted. And he layed on the final pass that saw fellow sub Cormac Costello send the ball over to spare Dublin’s blushes in the dying seconds of the game.

James McCarthy again played out of his skin at times where the home support were down in the mouth. And Rock finished with an eight point tally, with frees helping the Dubs find a way through a sometimes inpenetrable Clare defence.

Dublin Scorers:

Dean Rock 0-08 (5f, 1 ’45)
Sean Lowry 0-01
Brian Fenton 0-01
James McCarthy 0-01
Lee Gannon 0-01
Colm Basquel 0-01
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-01
Con O’Callaghan 0-01
Cormac Costello all 0-01

Clare Scorers:

Emmett McMahon 0-04 (1f)
Eoin Cleary 0-04 (1f)
Gavin Cooney 1-02
Diarmuid Coughlin 0-01
Podge Collins 0-01


1. David O’Hanlon
2. Daire Newcombe
3. Seán MacMahon
4. Lee Gannon
5. James McCarthy
6. John Small
7. Cian Murphy
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
10. Ciaran Kilkenny
11. Ross McGarry
17. David Byrne
21. Sean Lowry
14. Dean Rock
15. Con O’Callaghan

Dublin Substitutes:

13. Cormac Costello for Ross McGarry (HT)
12. Niall Scully for Sean Lowry (HT)
22. Jack McCaffrey for Tom Lahiff (44)
18. Colm Basquel for Lee Gannon (50)
24. Eoin Murchan for Cian Murphy (60)


1. Stephen Ryan
2. Manus Doherty
3. Cillian Brennan
4. Ronan Lanigan
5. Cian O’Dea
6. Pearse Lillis
7. Alan Sweeney
8. Ciaran Russell
9. Darragh Bohannon
10. Jamie Malone
11. Eoin Cleary
12. Dermot Coughlan
13. Gavin Cooney
14. Emmet McMahon
15. Pádraic Collins

Clare Substitutes:

19. Aaron Griffin for Podge Collins (HT)
24. Brendy Rouine for Darragh Bohannon (63-66, Blood Sub)
24. Brendy Rouine for Ciaran Russell (67)
25. Keelan Sexton for Aaron Griffin (70)