It’s a 12th consecutive Leinster Final place for Dublin as they make light work of Meath at Croke Park

Dublin v Meath - Leinster Senior Football Championship

Dublin 1-27
Meath 1-14
Croke Park

Dessie Farrell’s Dublin Senior Football Panel now have their eye on a 12th consecutive Leinster Championship, as they eased past Meath this afternoon in Croke Park. And the signs of regression witnessed during the league competition slowly disappear more with each Championship game.

Kildare will pose as worthy opponents in 2 weeks time but based on Dublin’s two performances in this competition, it will be a difficult task.

Following up on their 23 point victory over Wexford, Dublin put today’s tie against Meath to bed early. And Meath lost their discipline in the closing stages of the game with Jack Flynn and Jordan Morries both receiving their marching orders. Dublin lead by 15 points at half time after 35 where they rarely got out of first gear. Up front Con O’Callaghan, Ciaran Kilkenny and Cormac Costello were solid, with Tom Lahiff and Brian Fenton putting in a huge shift in the middel of the park.

It took Meath 13 minutes and five wide attempts before Bryan Mention registered their first score. Lahiff, Kilkenny, Costello, and Lorcan O’Dell had already put Dublin five clear. O’Callaghan started to cause the Meath Back 6 trouble and clipped a couple of scores over. And he was involved in 2 incidents with Eoin Harkin, costing Meath a free and a penalty with Dean Rock coverting both.

Red Cards Make Second Half Talking Point

A biright spell midway through saw Meath stitch three scores together but trailing by 1-17 to 0-05 at the break everyone wondered what would transpire on the restart.

Although Meath improved after the break, it was inevitable Dublin would push on, and they were happy to get bodies behind the ball adn play counter attacking football. The most fruitful part of Meath’s attacking game was drawing frees in scoreable positions. And it was really their only armour.

Jack Flynn was sent off after a heavy challange on Jonny Cooper. Matthew Costello was awarded a penalty with Michael Fitzsimons receiving a red card for a second bookable offence. Jordan Morries went from hero to villain in a matter of minutes. He converted Costello’s penalty, but 2 minutes later after a sideline incident with Lee Gannon, he received a straight red card adding to a day Andy McEntee will rather forget.

For Dublin, it’s eyes on May 28th and Kildare in the hope of 12th provincial crown and a place in the ALl Ireland mix again.

Scorers for Dublin:

Dean Rock 1-08 (1-0 pen, 5f, 1 ’45)
Cormac Costello 0-04
Ciaran Kilkenny 0-03
Con O’Callaghan 0-02
James McCarthy 0-02
Tom Lahiff 0-02
Lorcan O’Dell 0-02
Sean Bugler 0-02
Brian Howard 0-02
Paddy Small 0-01 (1 mark)

Scorers for Meath:

Jordan Morris 1-02 (1-0 pen, 2f)
Jack O’Connor 0-04 (3f)
Bryan Menton 0-03
Jack Flynn 0-01
Joey Wallace 0-01
Donal Keogan 0-01
Shane McEntee 0-01


16. Evan Comerford
2. Eoin Murchan
3. Michael Fitzsimons
4. Lee Gannon
5. John Small
6. Jonny Cooper
7. James McCarthy
8. Brian Fenton
9. Tom Lahiff
10. Seán Bugler
11. Brian Howard
12. Ciarán Kilkenny
13. Cormac Costello
14. Con O’Callaghan
15. Dean Rock

Dublin Substitutes:

6. Jonny Cooper or Murchan (50)
25. Niall Scully for O’Dell (55)
26. Paddy Small for O’Callaghan (56)
18. Shane Clayton for Fenton (62)
24. Brian O’Leary for Costello (67)


1. Harry Hogan
2. Robin Clarke
3. Conor McGill
4. Eoin Harkin
5. James McEntee
6. Donal Keogan
20. Ronan Ryan
8. Bryan Menton
9. Ronan Jones
24. Matthew Costello
11. Cillian O’Sullivan
12. Jack O’Connor
13. Jordan Morris
14. Thomas O’Reilly
15. Joey Wallace

Meath Substitutes:

7. Cathal Hickey for McEntee (HT)
25. Shane Walsh for O’Reilly (HT)
26. Shane McEntee for Ryan (HT)
21. Jack Flynn for Jones (43)
23. Bryan McMahon for O’Sullivan (59)