Dublin Advance To O’Byrne Cup Final After Win Over Longford

O'Byrne Cup - Longford v Dublin

A third win for Dessie Farrell’s Dublin Senior Footballers see them set their sights on the O’Byrne Cup Final

O'Byrne Cup - Longford v Dublin

Longford 0-05
Dublin 0-16

A clean sweep of wins for the Dublin Senior Football panel as they see off the challenge of Longford today, booking themselves a place in the O’Byrne Cup Final next weekend. And again, today was another opportunity for manage Dessie Farrell to view some up and coming talent combined with some experience.

James McCarthy, Eoin Murchan, Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian Howard all named to start, as Dublin raced into an early lead. Scores from Aaron Byrne, Tom Lahiff, Ciaran Archer, Kilkenny and McCarthy gave the Dubs a 0-05 to 0-01 lead by teh first half water break. But Farrell will have concerns as Paddy Small was forced out of the action shortly after due to injury.

Despite that, the visitors kept their momentum, with additional scores from Archer, Kilkenny and Sean Bugler. And going down the tunnel at Pearse Park they held an 0-08 to 0-01 half time lead.

Dublin contiuned to add pressure on the restart with Kieran Kennedy and Kilkenny adding scores.

Farrell made a raft of swicthes to give some more players game time and the chance to impress. Whitehall Colmcille’s Lee Gannon continues to impress in the competition, adding a score to his O’Byrne Cup account. Harry Ladd (2), Warren Egan and Ross McGarry also added to teh Dublin scoreline, helping them run out comfortable winner to advance to the O’Byrne Cup Final.

Dublin Scorers:

Ciarán Kilkenny 0-04
Ciarán Archer 0-02
Harry Ladd 0-02
Aaron Byrne 0-01
Tom Lahiff 0-01
James McCarthy 0-01
Seán Bugler 0-01
Kieran Kennedy 0-01
Lee Gannon 0-01
Warren Egan 0-01


Michael Shiel
Darragh Conlon
Seán MacMahon
Shane Clayton
Kieran Kennedy
Eoin Murchan
Sean Bugler
Tom Lahiff
James McCarthy
James Doran
Ciaran Kilkenny
Brian Howard
Paddy Small
Aaron Byrne
Ciaran Archer


Harry Ladd for Paddy Small (22)
Mark Lavin for Ciarán Archer (39)
Lee Gannon for Darragh Conlon (45)
Shane Carthy for Kieran Kennedy (45)
Ross McGarry for James Doran (48)
Warren Egan for Seán MacMahon (52)
Emmett O’Conghaile for James McCarthy (52)
Adam Rafter for Aaron Byrne (52)
David Lacey for Eoin Murchan (59)
Lorcan O’Dell for Seán Bugler (62)