Dessie Farrell will use the O’Byrne Cup to vet some new talent as Dublin face Longford in tomorrow’s Semi Final

Dessie Farrell - O'Byrne Cup Starting 15

Longford v Dublin
Saturday, January 11th. 2:00pm
Glennon Bros Pearse Park

As with previous year’s Dublin will roll out an experimental panel to compete in tomorrow’s O’Byrne Cup Semi Final against Longford in Pearse Park. This will be Dessie Farrell’s first game in charge as he starts his tenure as Dublin Senior Football Manager.

With the majority of the Dublin Senior Panel still on holiday, and with other players involved in the Sigerson Cup it’s the perfect opportunity for the Dessie Farrell to look at some of the developing senior talent at his disposal.

There are some familiar names among the panel list as a lot of these footballers have contested previous O’Byrne Cup competitions. Nathan Doran, Tom Lahiff, Gerry Seaver, Michael Shiel, CJ Smith, Graham Hannigan, Ross McGowan, Eoin O’Brien, Emmett ó Conghaile, Killian O’Gara, Glenn O’Reilly, Chris Sallier, Niall Walsh, Ryan Deegan and Diarmaid McLoughlin have all had involvement in recent years.

Interestingly six of the starting fifteen for tomorrow’s game were involved in the U21 All Ireland winning team of 2017. Darren Byrne, Cian Murphy, Andy Foley, Glenn O’Reilly and Dan O’Brien with Chris Sallier coming on as a sub in the decider. And Emmett ó Conghaile, Graham Hannigan and Niall Walsh played for the U21s in their previous All-Ireland final success of 2014.

There are some familiar surnames in the panel. Killian O’Gara, younger brother of recently retirred

Dublin Starting 15 (v Longford)

1. Michael Shiel (St Sylvester’s)
2. CJ Smith (Lucan Sarsfields)
3. Eoin O’Brien (Castleknock)
4. Darren Byrne (Raheny)
5. Niall McGovern (Na Fianna)
6. Graham Hannigan (Castleknock)
7. Cian Murphy (Thomas Davis)
8. Emmett ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)
9. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
10. Niall Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett/Eoghan Ruadh)
11. Dan O’Brien (Kilmacud Crokes)
12. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
13. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge St)
14. Niall O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)


16. Craig Reilly (Trinity Gaels)
17. Ross McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes)
18. Seán Cleary (Lucan Sarsfields)
19. Eoin O’Dea (Na Fianna)
20. Tom Lahiff (St Jude’s)
21. Ryan Deegan (Thomas Davis)
22. Nathan Doran (Clontarf)
23. Diarmaid McLoughlin (St Jude’s)
24. Gerry Seaver (Ballyboughal)
25. David Quinn (Na Fianna)
26. Scott Fulham (St Anne’s)