Another addition to the trophy cabinet in Glenalbyn as Kilmacud Crokes add the Senior 1 Football Championship to their haul

Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship

St. Judes 1-06
Kilmacud Crokes 1-07

It took a very late score from substitute Callum Pearson in the dying seconds, but it was just enough to secure the Senior 1 Football title giving Kilmacud Crokes the hurling and football championship double in the county. What a couple of weeks for the Stillorgan side and the perfect end to the season.

St. Judes will be disappointed and still in search of the elusive first Senior 1 Football Championship. With a 1-4 to 0-2 lead after 42 minutes and, happy to play a counter attacking game, Judes appeared to be well set up to register a landmark win. But sadly the Tymon North men just couldn’t capitalise when it really counted.

Crokes, who only registered a solitary point in the opening half, finished the stronger side. And in a repeat of the 2018 final they once again sent Judes home empty handed.

Pearson will be the player remembered for securing the win, when he sent the ball over from an extremely narrow angle in the fifth minute of additional time to steal the win.

Trailing for the majority of the game, a 52nd minute goal from substitute Cian O’Connor was the tonic Crokes needed to spring into action. Paul Mannion registered 0-04 at vital times of the fixture.

Judes will look back in disappointment for letting this game slip away having led 1-01 to 0-01 at half-time thanks to Alan Connolly’s 23rd-minute goal.

They won the third quarter by a point and were 1-04 to 0-03 up at the second water break. But they couldn’t hold on as Crokes rallied superbly.

Kilmacud will now enter the Leinster Senior Football Championship on December 5th facing Wolfe Tones of Meath in the Quarter Finals.

Scorers for St Judes:

Alan Connolly 1-01
David Mannix 0-03 (1f)
Darragh Kavanagh 0-01
Brian Coakley 0-01 (1 ’45)

Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes:

Paul Mannion 0-04 (2f)
Cian O’Connor 1-00
Conor Ferris 0-01 (1f)
Aidan Jones 0-01
Callum Pearson 0-01

St. Judes:

Paul Copeland
Alex Hassett
Jack McGuire
Oisin Manning
Tom Lahiff
Mark Sweeney
Chris Guckian
Colm Murphy
Pat Spillane
David Sheehy
Kevin McManamon
Darragh Kavanagh
Niall Coakley
Alan Connolly
David Mannix

St. Judes Substitutes:

Diarmuid McLoughlin for Kavanagh (37)
Ronan Joyce for Sheehy (50)
Rob Martina for Manning (53)
Brian Coakley for N Coakley (53)
Seamus Ryan for Murphy (60)

Kilmacud Crokes:

Conor Ferris
Dan O’Brien
Michael Mullin
Ross McGowan
Andrew McGowan
Cillian O’Shea
Rory O’Carroll
Ben Shovlin
Craig Dias
Shane Horan
Dara Mullin
Tom Fox
Hugh Kenny
Paul Mannion
Shane Cunningham

Kilmacud Crokes Substitutes:

Cian O’Connor for Fox (42)
Conor Casey for Shovlin (47)
Callum Pearson for Kenny (50)
Aidan Jones for O’Carroll (53)