Crokes Retain Senior 1 Football Title In Tight Decider


Galway’s Shane Walsh the hero as Kilmacud Crokes keep hold of the Senior 1 Football Championship

Kilmacud Crokes - Dublin Senior 1 Football Championship


Kilmacud Crokes 0-11 Na Fianna 0-10

Sunday’s Dublin Senior 1 Football title may have been overshadowed by the absence of Kilmacud Crokes star forward Paul Mannion. But new arrival Shane Walsh made sure his move from Galway to Dublin proved fruitful as Kilmacud Crokes battled to retain the silverware.

Robbie Brennan’s side battled as hard as they did 12 months ago when they beat St. Judes to put Na Fianna to the sword at the weekend. And this win sets the bar for their fellow hurlers who also duel with the Mobhi Road men this weekend in their Senior Final.

Na Fianna, who were appearing in their first final since 2005, stormed ahead in the early going with scores from Paddy Quinn and Aaron Byrne. But by the 10th Crokes had returned to the front thanks to efforts from Dara Mullins, Rory O’Carroll and Walsh. Na Fianna responded lively and despite another challenge from Crokes, the Mobhi Road outfit were a score to the better on a 0-07 to 0-06 half time scoreline.

After being patched up for a blood injury Shane Walsh started the second half for Crokes and was a crucial piece to Brennan’s puzzle. Facing a stiff breeze a Fianna found it difficult to find scores. Despite that Eoin Murchan and Conor McHugh found their range to keep the proceedings lively. But the loss of Paddy Quinn to a black card in the 46th, and that gave Crokes some room to open their opponents. Walsh converted a brace, with Craig Dias getting his second.

Walsh split the posts rom 40 metres out to put some breathing space between the sides. Brian O’Leary reduced the game to a score late into additional time but the clock had run out for Na Fianna with Crokes hanging on to claim back to back Senior Football titles and an extended season as they progress to the provincial competition.

Kilmacud Crokes Scorers:

Shane Walsh 0-04
Craig Dias 0-02
Dara Mullin 0-02 (1 mark)
Rory O’Carroll 0-01
Andrew McGowan 0-01
Ben Shovlin 0-01

Na Fianna Scorers:

Aaron Byrne 0-02
David Lacey 0-02 (2f)
Conor McHugh 0-02 (2f)
Eoin Murchan 0-01
Michael Day 0-01
Paddy Quinn 0-01
Brian O’Leary 0-01

Kilmacud Crokes:

Coor Ferris
Michael Mullin
Cillian O’Shea
Dan O’Brien
Rory O’Carroll
Aidan Jones
Andrew McGowan
Ben Shovlin
Craig Dias
Tom Fox
Shane Walsh
Shane Horgan
hugh Kenny
Dara Mullin
Shane Cunningham

Kilmacud Crokes Substitutes:

Conor Casey for Walsh (HT Blood Sub)
Cian O’Connor for Fox (39)
Conor Casey for Horan (47)
Callum Pearson for Cunningham (47)

Na Fianna:

David O’Hanlon
Gus Farrell
Eoin O’Dea
Ali Fitzgerald
Jonny Cooper
Eoin Murchan
Adam Rafter
Michael Day
Paddy Quinn
David Quinn
Aaron Byrne
David Lacey
Glen O’Reilly
Conor McHugh
Brian O’Leary

Na Fianna Substitutes:

Sean Caffrey for O’Reilly (41)
James Doran for D Quinn (52)
Dean Ryan or Rafter (57)
Donal Ryan for P Quinn (57)