Countdown To Sunday: Dublin v Meath 2014 Leinster Final Flashback


Dublin win the third installment against Meath in this Leinster Final Flashback

Dublin 3-20
Meath 1-10

Jim Gavin’s Dublin Senior Football Panel record their biggest winning margin in three Leinster Finals against Meath as they shut out the Royal County for 0-16 to win their ninth provincial in then years.

Goals from Bernard Brogan, Kevin McManamon and substitute Eoghan O’Gara combined with scores from eleven different players was just far too much for Meath to overcome.

Dublin were completely dominant in this Leinster Final, at one point leading by 20 points with nine minutes to play, and had registered three times Meath’s total before Mickey Newman struck a late consolation goal.

As expected the contest was as physical as any Dublin v Meath encounter over the years and Dublin just had more muscle. Stephen Cluxton put in an outstanding performance with the vast majority of his trademark accurate quickest on target, with Michael Darragh Macauley and Cian O’Sullivan on hand when they broke down.

The Dubs first goal was slightly fortunate, as McManamon ran rings around the Meath defence only to see his strike hit the upright. The fortunate part was both Bernard and Alan Brogan were right there for the rebound and Bernard just beat Alan to the punch connecting with the loose ball, slotting it over the line.

Stephen Bray’s finish at the other end on 25 minutes could have changed proceedings but referee Padraig Hughes, who had played advantage, had also blown to call play back for a free and the goal was disallowed. With Meath already trailing by five scores, Dublin finished the half with five of the last six scores.

Second Half Demolishing

It only took four minutes of the second half for Dublin to grab the game by the throat once again as Kevin McManamon made a blistering run, shrugging his marker to bury the ball past Paddy O’Rourke to score Dublin’s second goal.

The scores just kept coming as Meath found it difficult to eat into their lead, as Paul Flynn, Cormac Costello added more. On the hour substitute Eoghan O’Gara received a beautiful cross ball from Jack McCaffrey and made no mistake to blast in Dublin’s third to make the score 3-19 to 0-08 with ten minutes to go.

Dean Rock had an opportunity immediately after but fluffed the chance to give Meath a let off, and from the resulting counter, Mickey Newman made no mistake, giving Meath a glimmer of hope. Sadly Meath only registered two more, and with Eoghan O’Gara chalking Dublin’s last score the game was over and Dublin retained the Delaney Cup.

Scorers for Dublin:

Bernard Brogan 1-06 (4f)
Kevin McManamon 1-05
Eoghan O’Gara 1-01
Diarmuid Connolly
Stephen Cluxton 0-01 (1 45)
Cian O’Sullivan 0-01
Alan Brogan 0-01
Jack McCaffrey 0-01
Paul Flynn 0-01
Dean Rock 0-01
Cormac Costello 0-01

Scorers for Meath:

Mickey Newman 1-02 (1f)
Shane O’Rourke 0-02 (2f)
Andy Tormey 0-02
Stephen Bray 0-02
Damien Carroll 0-01
David Bray 0-01


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)
2. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
21. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Nicky Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)
19. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)
8. Michael Darragh Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
9. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Alan Brogan (Oliver Plunkett’s / Eoghan Rua)
12. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
13. Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s)
20. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunkett’s / Eoghan Rua)


Cormac Costello for Mannion (HT)
Dean Rock for Connolly (42)
Eoghan O’Gara for A Brogan (49)
Denis Bastick for Macauley (59)
Darren Daly for Devereux (59)
Tomas Brady for O’Sullivan (69)


1. Paddy O’Rourke (Skryne)
2. Eoghan Harrington (Wolfe Tones)
3. Kevin Reilly (Navan O’Mahony’s)
4. Bryan Menton (Donaghmore / Ashbourne)
5. Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey)
6. Donal Keogan (Rathkenny)
7. Donncha Tobin (Blackhall Gaels)
13. Graham Reilly (St Colmcille’s)
9. Shane O’Rourke (Simonstown Gaels)
10. Damien Carroll (Ballinabrackey)
11. Brian McMahon (Ratoath)
12. Andrew Tormey (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
20. Dalton McDonagh (Na Fianna)
14. Stephen Bray (Navan O’Mahony’s)
15. Mickey Newman (Kilmainham)


Joseph Wallace for Reilly (31)
Mickey Burke for Carroll (HT)
David Bray for McDonagh (46)
Brian Meade for O’Rourke (46)
Mark O’Sullivan for Menton (53)
Paddy Gilsenan for Tobin (70)